A Visit From The Serpentes

in #animal6 years ago

Early this afternoon I found a snake crawled up outside my kitchen’s gate probably trying to get inside. I am terrified when I opened the door and saw a green, skinny thing hanging on the gate and moved so fast until it disappeared from my sight.

Quickly, I shut the door closed, windows and went into the bedroom and quickly get @matthewdoughty out from the house to my father-in-law’s house. @danieldoughty was not at home at the time and the only one I can ask for help is my father-in-law. After explaining what happened (and wish the snake is still there), he gets a broom (yes, a BROOM) and both of us went back to my house. I told him that he needs at least a machete to kill the snake, but he assured me a broom will do.

The snake was still there, on top of the gate looking at both of us. I put myself at a distance and watch him with fear while he tried to put down the snake. Less than 5 minutes he managed to finish off the snake and I get to take a picture as proof 😂

According to @danieldoughty, this creature is called paradise flying tree snake. Scientific known as Chrysopelea Paradisi, this creature are mildly venomous and often found in moist forest.

Despite their names, paradise flying snakes -- much like flying squirrels -- actually glide through the air rather than fly like birds. They wrap their tails around a branch and dangle off, flattening their bodies and then launching themselves towards the ground. Once aloft, they undulate their bodies as though slithering through the air, tilting up and holding their head and the front of their bodies relatively still. They glide quickly, at speeds of between 26 and 33 feet per second. Paradise flying snakes are among the smallest of their genus, yet they are some of the best gliders and can travel as far as 330 feet through the air.

As a matter of fact, this is not the first time we had been visited by these reptiles. When we started move into this place, my father-in-law saw a cobra tried to attack one of our workers, but luckily our dog, Jiggy saved the man before something bad happened. Then couples of months ago, both my sister-in-law and my mother-in-law saw two different types of snakes at two different location within our compound. As for me, this is my second time encountered the same species tried to enter our house.

Wangler's Green Tree Pit Viper found at our car park compund.

They said sulphur powder can keep the reptiles away. And that’s what I did. Hopefully, by placing the sulphur powder around the perimeter of the house can keep them away.

source

Conie_animated banner.gif

Animated Banner Created by @cklai

SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

Wowww gila ehhh !! Kalu si @gelfire , dia terus pingsan tu..

Saya tia buli pingsan. Mo rescue org rumah dulu baru buli mamai-mamai. Hahaha

Adui! Panjang juga tu??? Gali sia!!!! Eeeeee!!!! 😖

Woow amiga, es enorme.. le tengo mucho temor.

Igual que aquí. ¡Aterrorizado!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97