Farmyard Friday | Holland Lops

I've had several breeds of rabbits over the years, both meat rabbits and dwarfs. One spring I impulsively sold all the meat rabbits and purchased a pedigreed Holland Lop doe. Since she was bred when I bought her she had a large litter of kits less than a month later. Their size and personality quickly won me over.

One thing I love about Holland Lops is their diverse colors. There are eight different color groups with varieties of color within each group. If you enjoy genetics, breeding Holland Lops is especially fun. I'm not overly brainy with genetics, but hands on experience with the rabbits has taught me much.

I went into an extensive internet search when I learned my new doe was a carrier for the Vienna gene. The Vienna gene is responsible for creating the Blue Eyed White, or BEW. While I was planning to write about the Vienna gene, as I got into it I realized I would take me longer than my daughter's nap, so I'm saving that topic for another day.

I like to know the origin of things. I wonder if there is a bit of a mad scientist inside me, pleading to be let out. I'm fascinated by the development of new breeds.

The Holland Lop breed was developed in Holland. Wouldn't you have been surprised if I'd said Tanzania? I just hope if I ever create something new I won't have exhausted all my ingenuity only to name my development after something regional, or even worse to name it after myself.

Back in 1949 the breed originated with French Lops, Netherland Dwarfs and one English Lop. More than twenty years later the breed first arrived in the United States. Since then it has become one of the most popular rabbit breeds.

IMG_1378.jpg

Here are a few kits from one of my litters of Holland Lops. These are about seven weeks old. See the little guy in the back with his ears sticking out to the side? His ears will eventually lop like the others, but for now we call them airplane ears.

When full grown a Holland Lop should weigh no more than 4 pounds. They are short and stocky with long hanging ears. Even full grown a Holland Lop retains its cuteness.

The personality of a Holland Lop is very pleasant. They are generally easy going and sweet. Some say the males are friendlier, although I haven't noticed that with mine.

Right now all of my Holland Lops are outside in hutches, although I have had some in the house. They are fairly easy to litter box train, but there is a fair amount of shedding.

If you've never seen a Holland Lop before, head down to the next county fair, there will certainly be a few. If you want to add a rabbit to your own backyard, talk to me, I need to downsize!

Sort:  

19.000+Followers can see you.(@tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak) Send 0.200 Sbd or Steem. Post link as memo for (minimum 15 upvote)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-01T17:56:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by homespun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61