True birds of prey

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0180 p.jpg

Pelicans are pretty common here in Aus, they are strange looking but also beautiful in their own way. I can honestly say though that they kind of scare me!

DSC_0161 p.jpg

My high school teacher had once shared with me a story that stuck with me forever….

DSC_0172 p.jpg

Picture this, you’re taking a leisurely stroll by the lake. The weather is beautiful and you have your new baby Chihuahua on a long retractable leash. He’s sniffing around and exploring his surroundings as most puppies do.

DSC_0894 p.jpg

As your snack sized puppy wanders further from you a pelican swoops down scooping up your beloved fur baby. Your unsuspecting pup stands no chance. The leash slips from your loose carefree grip and …. He’s gone :(

This had apparently happened to my teachers mother in law.

Moral of the story pelicans can't be trusted! #publicserviceannouncement

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-03T07:06:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.00/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

😳😳😳 oh wow yeah pelicans kind of freak me out too but far out that would have been horrible 😓
We got up close to a pelican at the Port Lincoln Jetty. It was waiting patiently for fishermen to reel their fish in. It was soooooo big I couldn’t quite believe it!
Poor puppy 😞

Yeah they are huge! These guys I photographed were at the Entrance in NSW where they do regular pelican feedings for tourists so they weren’t afraid to get really close 😳

Wow Krystal these are gorgeous photos. We have them here too in Costa Rica but a different colour. That’s a crazy story about the puppy, I guess at the waters edge it was confused as a fish on the end of a fishing line. I am surprised it didn’t spit it out again though with puppy teeth and claws in it’s bill !! So hang on tight to your puppy’s people!!!

Thanks Sally :) Either the pelican was really confused or really hungry. I've never seen one eat anything other than fish myself but i'd be horrified if it scooped up my little pup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66