Squirrel Sighting

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

DSCN1449.JPG

I saw this red squirrel the other day feasting on maple seeds in my back yard. When I first saw her she was facing me I could tell she was already pregnant. She would stand on one limb and reach up to another limb to gather seeds for her lunch. Unfortunately, by the time I had gotten my camera she had realized there were plenty of seeds much easier to reach.

DSCN1453.JPG

Squirrels will eat just about anything, I had always believed they were vegetarians but doing some reading they also eat meat. A few years ago we had a drought here in Indiana, for water they decided to eat the tomatoes my neighbor and I were growing for the moisture inside. Ever since then, they watch the tomato plants as closely as I do for that first red tomato of the season. They must have decided they really liked tomatoes because they normally get the first one.

She continued eating for quiet awhile as I hope she would stand back up and expose here stomach again, she never did. She ate quiet a bit, but then again, she is eating for 3 or 4 counting the kittens she is expecting. In a few months we'll be entertained with young ones playing chase in the backyard trees.

DSCN1454.JPG

I eventually walked down to get a better picture of here and she went into hide mode. Getting just as close to the limb as she could hoping I couldn't see her. In this photo you can see her belly protruding over both sides of the limb.

According to National Geographic [1] there are over 200 different species of squirrels worldwide. In Indiana we typically see red and grey tree squirrels as well as ground squirrels. In northwest Ohio I have seen squirrels that are solid black. They probably exists elsewhere, but this is the only place I have ever seen them.

Although they can be a nuisance, for the most part they are harmless and fun to watch. Unfortunately for some of them, my dogs have come to think of them as fresh dog treats.

Sort:  

She is certainly taking care of herself. I love the hiding pose.

Just saw my second black squirrel here in Wisconsin two days ago. I never saw a one of them in southeastern Ohio when growing up. Odd.

Our dog could care less about a squirrel. Funny, yet to see squirrel flavored dog food or treats. New idea for a money maker?

Squirrel flavored dog treats already exists, it's just hard to get them out of the trees.

Cute, Mike. Hope one of your 4 don't mistake a toy poodle for a squirrel.

Little Bit prefers rabbit turds. Readily available but really?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T13:00:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 177.25/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05