You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazing Animals #25 The Jumping Spiders

in #animals6 years ago

First article I read this morning. Absolutely wonderful. Such detail. Great videos. Clear language. You define terms I didn't know, such as Cephalothorax. I think the post sets a model for other posts. I was left with one question. Perhaps I missed the answer. What is the natural lifespan of a jumping spider? I guess it varies by genus. Can't imagine it's very long--propagation would seem to insure the demise of both male and female (though males have a chance of surviving and getting eaten by their next mate :) ). I resteemed and am going to link on Twitter.

Sort:  

Glad you enjoyed the post!

I thought I mentioned it in the article but I didn't , the average lifespan of Jumping Spiders does vary at the species level and is mainly dictated by climate, generally speaking most species have an average lifespan of around 10 months, some species can survive for as long as 18 months.

Thank you. Am sharing a video of Jumping spiders with a very young child I know, who loves science. Nice thing about learning--it's contagious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83