Sort:  

Lucky bee! Please tell us a bit about the other little flying creatures in your area. Seems that the bee population is doing very well but not the other insects. Here in Germany, there is no buzzing anymore in the meadows and forest. You are not bothered with all that little beasts, but it doesn't feel ok in summer, it is scary.

Where in Germany is that? In Dresden I saw flies even on warm days in February.

I don't track insects all that much. We seem to be OK at least as far as numbers are concerned - plenty of bees, flies, mosquitoes... This is just a totally amateurish assessment on my part, though - as I am certainly an opposite of an expert when it comes to this topic.

In Swabia. Even the scientist tell you about the disappearing flying insects: https://phys.org/news/2017-10-three-quarters-total-insect-population-lost.html

Oh, I am aware of systemic colony collapse of some species of bees, for example.

But this is bad. I didn't realize it was this extensive.

Of course, my question would be, how do they know - but that is a different topic.

How do they know? Scientist and friends of little creatures go into the fields and count them. Have you heard about Dave Goulson, a Britsh biologist and one of the leading experts in his field? He has done a lot of research and published books, like "A Sting in the Tale" where he talks in layman's term and entertaining about this problem.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27