You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazing Animals #27 The Flamboyant Cuttlefish

in #animals6 years ago

All Cuttlefish possess an internal structure within the mantle called the Cuttlebone...

I knew that they had to rely on gas exchange for buoyancy and that they, like belemnites, had a hard structure to help with this. I never knew it was called a cuttlebone though. That's neat! My marine biology professor didn't go into specifics of the cuttlefish since he was more of a shark person and wanted to get to them asap.

Blue-ringed Octopus

You definitely do not want one of these to bite you.

Thanks for posting this. I learned quite a bit about these magnificent creatures from this that I should have probably been taught doing my lectures. :)

Sort:  

I'm still quite regretful that I didn't pursue a career in Marine biology, there is definately a lot still to be discovered in our Oceans, are you in the profession? :)

I am suprised about the Cuttlebone being missed as a point of discussion (though Sharks are awesome!), as far as I'm aware Cuttlefish are the only Cephalopods that possess an internal shell to control buoyancy.

Squid and the non-related Vampire Squid also have internal shells known as a Gladius that is made out of Chitin, though these function as a support structure for connecting muscles within the mantle.

I'm a 3rd year marine science major. It's never too late to pursue that career!
The spirula also has an internal shell to control buoyancy as well. I think they're the only two (discovered) alive today.

Oh that's cool, do you have any specific interests within the subject? I've always imagined working with Sharks (at a safe distance) would be a cool and fulfilling job.

That's very true! It's a thought that enters my mind occassionaly, though I love the work I'm involved in right now so it will likely remain just a thought. :)

Oh that's right, gonna have a read up on them! There could be many more out there, it's difficult to actually grasp just how vast our Oceans are.

I like marine geology and the physics side of marine science so far (like physical oceanography). I plan on becoming a marine engineer so I think it's a good thing I enjoy those.

This instagram is run by my marine biology professor and some of his graduate students. Might be worth checking out if you like sharks.

You can still find crews to go out with and get a taste of that marine biologist life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50