Walk In The Bush

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

 So now that all the snow has melted and things have dried up here a bit.  We will take a walk in the bush. Here is the entrance of the bush.
 

We have 72 acres of land and about 65 it is Bush. It is early so there won’t be much growth.


The first bits of new growth.  

   

This is a picture of our raspberry patch in about a month it should be in full growth.


From Mushrooms of the Boreal Forest by Eugene F Bossenmaier

 May in Alberta is morale month which are a darker mushroom so I’m going to start walking every few days to see if we can get some morels. There’s been enough water that we should definitely  have some morels out and about it’s just a matter of finding them. It is  a bit early for morels I’m not really seeing anything.

Here is one of the paths that we use to go for walks in the bush.  We have spent many hours making trails in the bush.  We also use these trails to bring out wood to buck up and split for our winter fires in the house. 

We are at the beginning stages of the bush taking form into it's beautiful glory. It will be a couple more weeks before we really see some good growth.
 

Here is Mr. Rooster sitting on the hay bale watching over his flock.  As you can see in the background the goats have gotten loose.  We are trying to put them in the pasture in the front.  They are wanting to come back to their pens, and the hay.  These are the young goats and the ones that are not showing signs of being pregnant.

The ducklings are beginning to venture out of the nest.  They are probably 4 feet from the hen house where they sleep for the night.  Under all the hay is bugs and some snow.  They are enjoying the feast of bugs and bits of dirt.  They spent the afternoon eating and sun bathing. 

Sort:  

That's the beauty of nature, isn't it? About 7 to 10 days back, we were discussing about how to store that water and when the temperature will go up and when will that snow melt.

Now that everything is clear and I am sure you guys will enjoy going out and have some walk.

Those mushrooms, are they consumable? We will have small and white mushrooms whenever there is rain and it has become very rare now.

All those pics tells us about the culture and the nature beauty over there.

Thanks again for sharing these.

Yes you are so right 7 to 10 days ago it was very different here. Walking in the bush is so calming and relaxing. It is one of my favorite things to do.

Yes those mushroorms are edible. I have not eaten them myself though.

So if the mushrooms in your area are rare then they must cost quite a bit. In our stores they are selling mushrooms in a box. You buy the box, open one side of it and water it. In a week you will have grown your own mushrooms.

Each area of the earth has it's own beauty. When I look at pictures from other places I think it is more beautiful there. Maybe that is just me wanting to travel.

Yeah, environment is changing constantly even here, for the last few days, we are feeling there will be some rain, the environment becomes overcast, but there won't be rain!! It's the same today as well, and that has made the weather a pleasant one with less heat.

So if the mushrooms in your area are rare then they must cost quite a bit.

Yes, it costs bit more as the mushrooms are grown in a professional way since those are available less during rainy season. We get the mushrooms directly in the boxes and consume it within few days after buying.

Happy to learn something new everyday :)

Well at least you are having a bit of cool weather. It probably is nice to have a break from the heat.

Have a great day.

It's been raining since last 3 days, so it's really a pleasant environment right now here.

Having said that, the last 2 days we had huge thunderstorms and there is definitely some disturbance as for as electric poles are concerned and electric board will have some work in their hands.

I couldn't respond for the last 2 days as I was busy with some work and today is my day to respond to all the messages and also check on new posts from you and others.

I hope everything is fine there as for as weather is concerned.

Have a great Saturday @carey-page.

Thunderstorms, can be quite damaging. So there must have been some power outages over there. Yes they will have some work to do to get it up and running again. I hope that didn't affect you.

Work always comes first. It is most important.

We are good here. :)

It's been over a week now and we are having thunderstorms every day and ofcourse yes, there are power outages. But as for as I know, I haven't seen this much amount of wind flow and thunderstorm before. We are just hoping the storms also brings enough rain and it's good so far in these 7 to 8 days.

We are not getting affected, but the trees in our garden aren't able to sustain the high wind and we need to do something for that.

Heavy wind and thunnderstorms are not fun at all. They can be so damaging. I sure hope your trees and garden are able to get through it without damage.

I was in a tornado when I was young and it was very scary. Anytime there are high winds and thunder here we are on alert.

I hope you get the rain that is needed and the rest of the storm calms down.

What great pics! Glimpses of spring!
Gives me hope! :)
Its funny how the goat want to get back to the hay! It surprises me how food driven they are!
I have yet to pick a morel! I think they are only in books! Lol do you dehydrate mushrooms?

Yes a glimps of spring. It is so good to see. How are things over there?

Yes goats are very driven by their stomaches. They also love to come back to the pens at night. Which is good.

We have dehydrated mushrooms in the solar dehydrator. I thought morels were only in books until last year we finally had some on the property. I have noticed they seem to have a year where they are most abundant and then other years they are scarse (not sure if that is spelled correctly and there is no spell checker on this computer).

THis must be pre-fire. Hope all is still beautiful. Blessings.

Yes it is pre-fire. It is still beautiful. The fire didn't cross the road and we are ok. There were a few hot spots last night that the fire fighters were watching.

Thank you so much for your support and caring.

Hi Carey! Happy Sunday 🌹
It's great to see pics from your world! Your handsome rooster! And, the rascally goats!! I love your forest 🌳🌲🌳🌲🌳 wish you luck in finding mushrooms! The new growing is WONDERFUL! I am so glad it's spring! Enjoy your day!

Hey there, Happy Sunday, well it is Monday. So Happy Monday.

Yes it is good we are in spring. You must be enjoying this wonderful weather. It was so hot yesterday.

The animals are really enjoying the nice weather. Yes the goats are rascals. Perpetual 3 year olds.

I do hope to find some morels this year. It will be wonderful. I will keep you posted. Enjoy your day as well.

Thanks for your reply Carey! Sure hope the babies are all doing well on the sacred land you steward! Have you had any luck finding morels yet? I don't think I have ever seen (in real life) or tasted that mushroom before! The weather has really been weird, no doubt.

The babies are doing fantastic. They are beginning to run and jump now. I haven't gone far enough in the bush yet. The day I took the pictures I realized I was not prepared to too far in the bush. I only checked out the places close to the house. My next walk will be to go to the mushroom patches that are deep in the bush. We are due to get rain today so Saturday and Sunday will be good days for mushroom picking. Last year was the first time I had seen a morel. They look cool. We were told they are brain food because they look like a brain.

Very very cool! Bouncing baby goats! And brain food morels! I believe that. I have heard the same thing of walnuts. Please share picks in a blog post (good chance to use steepshot - though it glitches on me a bit more then I like) i'd love to see pics! We were up in Yellowknife a few summers ago and many ppl were mushroom picking. I think it was July. I wonder if they were picking morels! I don't know what they were. I only knew they were selling them for big $.

Yes walnuts are brain food as well. I prefer walnuts to mushrooms. Each mushroom has a season. Morels are usually in the spring. They might have been around up there in July. I will try steepshorts. I keep forgetting to download it. I usually go out to download things like that.

Yes spring is wonderful, it is so great to see all the new growth take form. it is such a good feeling to walk along and see all the new beauty waken up from the cold winter. Love it. Great pictures

Hey thanks mom. It is good to see you on steemit more.

Thanks for stopping in.

I love the bush. I see some signs of life but I think you need a few more warm days to see it really pop. Do you dehydrate your excess mushrooms (I would have a big feast when they appear. I love mushrooms!)

Yes we do need a bit more warm weather for everything to wake up. It is just nice to have warm weather.

We do dehydrate our mushrooms. I love to go mushroom picking and I do cook mushrooms for anyone who likes to eat them. Myself I really don't like to eat them. The walk in the bush and finding them is really the best.

Mmmm! Morels are amazing. It has been a long time since I have seen them or eaten them. They are a delicious treasure of the season. Best luck in finding them.

Thanks maybe later on in the month you can come out and we can go for a walk and find some. It would be so much fun to do that with you.

Oh, boy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71