Rescuing Kitty

in #animals4 years ago

I am so happy. So very happy. You know why? I think I just made a difference to the feral cat community.

Rescue.jpg

Yesterday as I was glued to my screen as usual, with my desk near the door and window of my tiny apartment, I saw this kitty wandering around the yard looking terribly lost. It is not unusual to see feral cats around the neighborhood. But this one was strange though. How did this tiny creature suddenly appear out of nowhere? I was thinking that maybe the Mama cat was just around so I'll just wait. But then after a few hours, the kitty looked horrible and still walking around. And of course, nobody in this crowded neighborhood didn't even bother to check on it. It just pains me how an animal's life is less important to these people.

I thought the Mama cat just left it here, yeah, bad Mama cat. Mama cat couldn't handle the responsibility of taking care of her own baby. I can't judge though, I've never been a Mama cat. But then I thought of something worse. Maybe some evil human just deliberately dropped the kitty around the area for it to get lost and die.

I grew up in this region and I know that people are still pretty backward when it comes to animal welfare. Simply because they are selfish. All they care about are their own lives and their whiny babies' lives. Cats' lives don't count.

So, I decided to foster it. I gave it milk and some food. Oh my Gawd, the kitty was very hungry. I put it in a box and it didn't come out. It must be so tired so I let it rest. Such a rough start for this poor thing.

I posted the photo of this kitty on one of the local "Buy and Sell" community groups on Facebook, hoping that it will get adopted soon. Because the kitty, too, deserves a better life.

I mean I could foster it for a few days but I just cannot have another kitty. I can't support it due to financial reasons. I just realized how rehabilitating a feral kitty would cost a lot of money, you know, taking it to the vet regularly, giving it shots, treatments, or medications. So, one rescue kitty, for now, is enough for me.

To my surprise, someone responded just right after I posted the photo. A girl wanted to pick up the kitty right away and I thought she was pretty excited. I was over the moon happy. I didn't realize that someone would even express any interest in adopting a feral kitten.

She came to my place late in the afternoon to pick it up. I felt like the kitty was about to have a good life with her, hopefully, my instincts telling me that. I realized how it felt so good to help the helpless. It even felt like it was more for me than for the poor animal.

I can totally empathize with the kitten because I'm feral too y'know. It's really a harsh world out there. You are not used to human contact. You just don't trust anyone. It is a constant struggle to survive. That's feral.

Anyway, I am happy now that I saved the kitty from a miserable life. It's still very vulnerable and cannot survive the feral life yet.

The new kitty mum just sent me this picture when the kitty arrived at their place yesterday. It looks like the kitty will have a new friend here.

Rescue 2.jpg

What about you guys?

Do you have any "The Dodo" story to share?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87