Moose in da UP

in #animals5 years ago

dscf8262.jpg

I (Addie) was traveling back to the UP from a visit to Doc and my parent (while I was staying with a friend until we actually closed on our new home), and I was nearly to the Marquette-Negaunee-Ishpeming home stretch area, when I got to one of the passing lanes. I was going to pass someone going about 10 or so under the speed limit, and just as I was thinking about gaining speed, I decided not to, as it looked like there might have been an accident or something. There were a lot of vehicles pulled over on our side of the road… so I drove past carefully, and was thinking “odd, I don’t see any damaged cars and everyone who’s out of their vehicles is looking into the ….oh!!” and then I spotted a large dark blob in the bushes and taller vegetation on the edge-ish of the road.

Did I mention this happens to be in the 35 mile stretch on highway 28 that is marked with warnings on moose crossings?

So I pulled over, and wielded my camera and cell phone camera. I actually texted a few pictures to a few people who pulled over after it was in good position to take pictures. They had lamented missing seeing it better or getting pictures, and I said I’d gladly share mine.

Here they are...

dscf8261.jpg

dscf8266.jpg

dscf8267.jpg

dscf8268.jpg

dscf8274.jpg

Brought to you by:
FBD Sticker 4.jpg

Sort:  

Sure hope I don't run into this big boy in the middle of the road when I am doing a hundred or more. Would be very messy for me and not hurt him at all.

maybe slow down?

Wow, what a big guy. Do you know if that was Bullwinkle? Did he have a flying squirrel on his back named Rocky. If it was moose and squirrel then Natasha and Boris had to be lurking nearby. I miss Bullwinkle!

Nice photography.
Never seen a moose before .

stay well and keep posting!

Merry Christmas in advance

Posted using Partiko Android

glad to show you one...

Those are some crazy large animals.

yep. rare to see here...

Keep an eye out for Fisher's Doc . Nasty creatures

How about badgers? I eat dem Fisher's for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Then I burp and eat a snake. Fisher's are wussies. Get lippy and I eat your 2 hogs too!

they are fun critters...

Probably Grey wolves in the area to

i think so...

A buddy of mine Clocked one in a minivan up in Maine. He said it was like hitting an overpass abutment. He was OK, the Minivan not so much.

gotta watch out for them. troy might gut shoot em...

Have you got an off grid freezer large enough to hold all of that meat ?

i was thinking maybe troy could store it.

nice blog

upvoted and resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66