Panda Love

in #animals6 years ago

Hello everyone. Hope you are enjoying the weekend. Though I have been upvoting on a daily basis, I myself have not posted anything in about a week, so I thought that I would make up for it by sharing with you some giant Panda Love!

A few months ago I had the opportunity to visit the Toronto Zoo. I was motivated to check out the giant pandas which had been there for the past 5 years, but were scheduled to be transferred to the Calgary Zoo.

In March 2013, Da Mao (male panda) and Er Shun (female panda) arrived at the Toronto zoo as part of a ten year partnership between China, Toronto and Calgary. This collaboration was created out of a Global Giant Panda Conservation Breeding Program. As a result, in October 2015 history was made with the first baby panda cubs ever to be born in Canada.

It is rare that twin pandas are born and it is even more rare for both to survive. In the wild, the mother panda only has enough resources to care for one of the two and will neglect the one she considers weaker where it will inevitably die. Thanks to innovative methods, only made possible by having all 3 pandas in captivity, both baby cubs were able to live on and as you can see below are doing well...

PandaKiss.jpg

No French kissing here, just Jia Yueyue (sister) and Jia Panpan (brother) partaking in a tug of war with their teeth.


PandaFeeding.jpg

"You want some of this? Go ahead eat it!"

Jia Panpan was born 13 minutes before his sister . Figuring out their gender was not an easy undertaking. Swabs of DNA from their mouths had to be taken and sent to a forensic lab before they could be identified and named which was through an online naming competition.


PandaGrabbing1.jpg

"I was just kidding. Give it back to me!"

A panda has five fingers and an enlarged wrist bone which acts as a thumb to grip the bamboo that makes up for 99 percent of their diet.


MamaBear2.jpg

Meanwhile, Er Shun (mama bear) seems to be stuck between a rock and a hard place.


PapaBear.jpg

While any bed will do for Da Mao (papa bear).


PandaChain3.jpg

"It's just a leather ribbon little sister. You crack me up."

The good news is that between 2013 and 2018 as a result of the Global Giant Panda Conservation Breeding Program the giant panda was downgraded from "endangered" to "vulnerable" by the (IUCN) International Union for Conservation of Nature.

If you are in the Calgary area I recommend you check out this family of four at the Calgary Zoo. I also recommend you bring a good camera. My only regret is that I somehow left my camera bag in another car and had to make do with an old 6 megapixel point and shoot borrowed from a friend which required some extra work editing the shots.

I hope this put a smile on your face. If so, then I did my good deed for the day. Cheers!


Picture1.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Congratulations @gansekirock! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awwww so cute!!

Yes they were. I could have easily stayed and watched them all day, but there were many people wanting to get a look so I moved on to the giraffes :-)

And now I'm gonna wait to see the giraffe pics! 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61593.58
ETH 2950.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49