Jimi.The.Ginger.Cat's.Blog : How I Travel

in #animals7 years ago

Sometimes life gets hard and you need to take a vacation and travel. That is true if you are a human.

I like going outside, snoozing in the grass, eating the grass, chasing insects, plotting to kill my enemies...but that's about it.

There are pets that enjoy traveling, mostly dogs, but that's not my thing. Good for them, and paws up for bravery!

Coco tried a couple of times to take me with her, but that didn't work so well.

The worst experience for us was when I pooped 3 times in 20 minutes. She wanted to visit a friend who has adopted one of the kittens I mentored (and also has an amazing yard, with plenty of dwarf trees to climb on).

As I said....that's not my thing. Now, I only go to the vet and at my grammie and ganpy's house. when Coco goes on vacations.
I miss her when she leaves, but my fans...I mean...my ganps love me and spoil me. It's like my second house.

The right way to carry a pet is with a transporter.


I'll show you mine if you show me yours:

21952696_1499779660057569_423737712_o.jpg

I prefer the ones with the detachable lid.
Perfect for vet trips. Most pets get scared, and putting your hand in to grab them, might not be the best idea.
Instead, you remove the top and there you go, instant access. Less stress, fewer bites, fewer scratches. Win-win.

21931187_1499779640057571_1641200271_o.jpg

O course, it's nice if you can put something soft inside, for comfort.

21912836_1499779553390913_220731374_n.jpg

Be sure to leave enough space for the animal. When you buy a transporter, make sure it's the right size and that it can sustain your animal's weight.

If you are taking your per for a medical procedure, other than the yearly vaccination and check-up, it's recommended you place a pet pad.

21931039_1499784706723731_2007759035_o.jpg

As an effect of anesthesia, pets can vomit or pee during transportation. That is why it's very important to remove all food 12 hours before surgery and water at least 6 hours before surgery. The pads absorb moisture and smell.

Keep the pet under observation until the effect of anesthesia passes. If they vomit, and the jaw is numb, they can't expell and choke. It's rare, but keep it in mind.

I used to have two types of harnesses, but since I don't leave the garden, I donated them to other cats.

One was a classic, like this one:
Alley_Cats_Harness_Lead_Red_d955b6b0-951e-4117-985a-95ce675ee537_1024x1024.jpg
I wore I once and that was it. Coco put it on nice and snug but I still escaped and used it to play. I made that harness my...prey.

The other one is a body harness, and you can find different types:

2633590-center-1.jpg

bandit-cat-harness-jacketcatspia-brown-4034.jpg

People are going crazy with harness design. Just type "cat harness" on Google and be amazed!

Travel safe and remember:

BE GOOD, BE RESPONSIBLE

Sort:  

The Vet! Cat's worst nightmare but not for Jimmy, he seems to be responsible. Cool cat.

This is supercool! @jimicoco Thanks! Followed...

Thank you! Back at you! Paws up!

A female cat will be pregnant for approximately 9 weeks or between 62 and 65 days from conception to delivery.

Congratulations @jimicoco! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jimicoco! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68