How I Almost Gave Up On My Dog

in #animals6 years ago

My Dog's Story

In this post I will do something different, something more ‘personal’. I’m going to talk about my dog and her story.

I always liked animals – cats, dogs, fishes – and always wanted to have pets. When I lived with my parents we had (they still have) 2 cats, which I deeply love. I’ve been living an adult life for a few years now and last year I got really interested in getting a pet.

I didn’t decide I wanted a pet out of nowhere. I read and did research about it for months. I answered all the typical “Are you sure you want it?” questions and advises:


“You know it’s a lot of work. Are you willing to do it?”
“It’s a big responsibility, you know that?”
“Do you know where and who to leave the pet with, when you travel?”
“Bear in mind that having a pet will bring extra expenses.”

… Amongst others.


The truth is, all these questions and advices are understandable.

Being a pet caretaker is a lot of responsibility.

Moving forward, I decided to have a dog. I’m already an indoors person, so if I had a cat I would probably never leave the house. I love cats, don’t get me wrong. I felt like I needed the energy of a dog in my life.

Now what? Am I getting a dog of a certain breed? Am I rescuing/adopting one?

I’ve always been a defender of the oppressed, so rescuing an abandoned dog seemed like a good idea. When I was a kid, I’d want to take home any animal I’d seen abandoned. If it depended on me, we’d have a house full of them.

It’s a little bit different when you’re the only caretaker and you have a full time job, though. You want to know what to expect, if it’s going to fit your lifestyle, if the time you have to walk/play is enough for the dog’s energy level, if it’s the right size for you, etc.

So I started researching, which is something I’m good at. In about a couple of weeks, I knew all the breeds out there, their ‘personalities’, energy levels, life expectancies, sizes and fur types. I had a list of breeds I liked and I was willing to forget about my past rescuer self to actually get one. With money. I even had a list of all the breeders around I could contact to get the dog breed I wanted.

Something didn’t feel right, though.

Every time I browse animal charity pages, I felt sad. There’re so many dogs without an owner, just there, waiting for someone to love them. I didn’t (and still don’t) have anything against breeding, if done correctly and legally, and people that get pure breeds. It’s a choice. I felt deeply in my heart that the child that wants to give love to all the abandoned animals, was still here.

The next phase of the “Having a Pet” plan started. Browse charities websites, go to kennels and ask people I know about abandoned dogs. I still wanted to have a dog that kind of fits my lifestyle and personality, so I needed time to think about it.

One day, when I was having dinner at my parent’s house, my brother told me he knew a lady that finds owners for abandoned animals. He asked me if I wanted to give her my contact. I said ok, and didn’t expect too much out of it.

In the next days, she emailed me some dogs’ images. I told her I was looking for a small sized dog, as I travel often and wanted to take the dog with me in travels and hotels. There was a small scared looking dog in one of the photos. She was small but nothing like the breeds I selected previously. I decided to go see her.

When I entered in the lady’s house, there was a lot of dogs barking and running around. She happens to also take care of pets while the owners are away. I waited until another lady came with the dog.

Mel1.png

Here's a photo of her I took when I went to the lady's house. She was all scared!

When the dog came, she was super scared, not active at all. I tried to get closer but she didn’t want anything to do with me, just hiding away and not moving at all. The other dogs were giving me more attention than that one. The ladies were telling me how good it was to have such a quiet dog. I was rather confused. I wanted a pet that I could play with and be happy with. There was something wrong.

I didn’t know what I was doing and without thinking too much I said – “I’m taking her.” What? I took a decision I’ve been trying to take for months in a second, without thinking. I said I wanted to take her home for a night to see how I adapt and then see how it goes.

I knew something was wrong. I asked the lady if the dog was sick because I’ve never seen such energy less behavior. She said there was nothing wrong and that’s her ‘personality’. Ok.

Mel2.png
One of the first pictures at home!

I took her home. She peed in the parking floor of my flat building. I ran to the flat, got some cleaning products, left her in the flat, and quickly went to clean it. When I was back in the flat, there was poop in the whole living room corner. I just cleaned it. I never told her off or got stressed. I gave her some food. She still had the same behavior – very low on energy, hiding, not wanting any sort of contact. I just let her be and stayed in the living room with her.

I didn’t know what to do. I thought I’d be one of the “dog parents” that make videos of their pets growing up, playing, being cute. Instead, I had an almost adult dog (she was 11 months old at the time) that was pretty much responsive-less. I tried to remain calm and I regret my decision for that moment. I wanted to give up and send her back, but I knew a dog is not a toy you can just return if you didn’t like it.

I “slept” on the living room sofa. “Slept” because I was waking up about 3 in 3 hours to clean the dog’s poop. She was literally pooping everywhere. It got to a point where it was just part of the routine. Luckily I didn’t have any carpet or rugs at the time, only a wooden floor.

I never owned a dog before, everything I was doing was off instinct – not telling her off, leaving her alone, praising her when she went to the pee pad to pee. The next morning, I still didn’t know what to do. I was alone, tired and pretty much desperate. I wanted to return her.

I called my mom in hope of wise words or at least some support. She came over and we chatted. She told me to have patience and calm down. We named her Mel, which means Honey in Portuguese. We knew something was wrong with Mel and I decided to take her to a vet. It was Sunday, so I called the emergency vet services. I was more relaxed now.

I took her to the vet to found out she had a food intoxication – the reason for all the poop. The vet gave her some medicine and I took some home to give her later. In the same day, at night, she was a different dog. Mel started to be more active, want more attention and just be like a normal dog. I was happy. I didn’t want to return her. We bonded so much on these 24 hours it seemed like we’ve been together for months.

IMG_2912.jpg
After she recovered from the sickness, she was a changed and happy dog! This was one of her first walks outside.

That’s it. Mel is a happy almost 2 years old good girl. She’s playful, smart and super loyal. She still has a lot of fears, which we are progressively overcoming. In the end, nothing went as expected but I couldn’t have chosen a better fur friend.

IMG_4163.jpg
Her first time staying in a Hotel, in Porto

If you want to check what Mel's been up to, you can follow her on Instagram.
This story makes me think that no matter how much planning we do, the best in life happen spontaneously. Do you have a pet story too? Would love to know.

Sort:  

Que bonita história!!! A Mel hoje é uma linda cadelinha feliz e você uma orgulhosa criadora. Fico feliz em vê-las assim, tão unidas e cúmplices e eu,orgulhosa por fazer parte dessa história.

Obrigada! :D Ela é! Sim, se vc não tivesse vindo e me aconselhado eu me sentiria muito mais perdida. :) Beijinhos!

How about this for a comment. I liked your story so much that I propose it for a Curie vote and it was approved. I loved your story. And, I am glad you stuck with your dog through her tough time. it seems like you got a friend for a lifetime in her. She is incredibly cute. :)

Thank you for sharing your amazing story with us. I really enjoyed reading it and I am happy it got a well deserved vote from Curie. Have an amazing day. :)

OMG Thank you so much!!!!! I was wondering why I got so many upvotes and how Curie got to upvote me. Thank you thank you :) I’m glad you like the story!! My dog keeps bringing so much happiness and little stories to my life , she’s really a lifetime friend (hope she lives forever)

Thank you for appreciating and giving your time to my post, that means so much to me! Have an amazing day yourself!!!!!

What a difference!! So cute. :)

It is!! Thank you!!

Can tell she loves you! Posing all pretty for the camera and everything. She thinks she's a model :P

Haha thank you! Yeah, she loves to pose for the photos :) but sometimes she avoids the camera, who knows :D

This is a beautiful story. I’m so glad you stuck with her and got her the right medical treatment.

I also feel very sad and disheartened when I see all the animal rescue shelters that have abandoned dogs. I wish I could help more dogs but my current dog is better being an only dog.

Mel is very cute and adorable :)

Thank you so much! Yeah, it’s very sad that there’re so many abandoned animals and people that abandon them. :( there’re a lot of ways of helping like taking food, giving donations, etc for the local shelters! :) thank you!!!

So glad that you didn't give up on your furever pet! Wish there were more people in the world who would do what you did!

Aww Thank you!!!! :)

I am glad you decided to rescue a pet and give it a home. Years back I found a puppy on the street that I petted for a bit. It was small like your Mel. It followed me for almost one mile. I took him home. It died after three years, as it was old.

Aww that’s such a sweet story too. I’m so sorry about your lost, I imagine how hard it might be to get through that. You have provided very happy and loving 3 years for your dog and that’s amazing. Thank you for sharing your story!

Whenever we travel by plane (which is quite frequently) we are always conflicted as to whether or not to bring out furry companion. We recently returned to California, and out little Bailey was happy about that. Cute post! Upvoted!
IMG_4545.JPG

Aww It’s a difficult decision! I travel often too but I’ve been leaving Mel with a family she loves and takes care of her while I’m away, unless I’m going by car and I can take her :) Due to recent accidents on planes with dogs, it gets really scary to take our fur babies on! Bailey looks so adorable and happy! Love that photo!!

Thank you :)

it seems you've got the never give up spirit in you...

Puppies love games such as hide and seek! Hide, then call your pup's name so she can try to find you.

Thank you for the tip! I do that sometimes - when I'm playing fetch with her and she comes back with the ball I hide and she tries to find :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71