I Saved A Wild Mouse

in #animals6 years ago


Yesterday while browsing a store with my dad, he spotted a baby mouse toddling across the floor and into the bathroom. Me being a rat and overall animal lover, my brain immediately scattered to helping the little one. I couldn't collect myself for the first minute over how adorable this little floofy cotton ball was, but once I could, I ran over to the owner of the store asking for a small box. I then was able to persuade the slow and tired mouse into the box and put a few tissues in there for it's comfort. The store owner couldn't believe there was a mouse in her shop, and insisted it must have come from another store as if we were disgusted.
She told my dad someone had ran out screaming earlier- which really makes me laugh considering how tiny and innocent this little mouse was; it's not like it had the speed to scurry across someone's feet.



Knowing she would likely be killed or freeze having been separated from her family at such a young age, I decided to bring her home. I do feel it was best for her knowing they would now be setting out traps. I really would prefer to leave wildlife alone.
Once getting home I rushed and set up a little bin for her. A spoon with some water, some infant formula, some rat food, and a few Cheerios. She was immediately interested in the food. After eating, getting some fluids into her tummy, and warming up, she brightened up fast.

I decided to name her Kairi, considering the circumstances in which I was at the store- we were there to get a gift for my boyfriend, specifically a keyblade, which is a weapon from a video game called Kingdom Hearts. Kairi is the name of one of the characters.

She settled in for the night, and I made sure she kept warm by setting her bin next to my gecko's heat lamp. Just close enough it warmed the wall of the bin, but not too close. If it happened to get too warm, she had plenty of room in the bin to move away to a cooler side. She found it lovely, and slept smashed against the wall.

She has slept most of the day, but checking on her, she looked so much better.

Sort:  

Super Mandy to the rescue! :)
Kairi will be very happy to be inside in warm, wonderful conditions and get fed well. Lovely job to find and save it. :)

Aw, thank you for your sweet comment!

You're welcome darling, always good to show support and how lovely you think someone and their post is. Kaylin knows me well in that area hehe. :)
But it's definitely a cutie, the mouse is. :)

Shes so small! Hopefully she doesnt run away. Haha

Right? if she gets lost we'll have a house full of mice!

Only if she finds those wild boys outside! House mouse party!

it was incredible

Soooo cuteeeeeeee!

Right? She's the size of a nickel!

That's so cute but aren't wild mouse dangerous?

I have some knowledgeable rodent friends that have saved some wild mice and rats who I discussed this with, and to my surprise there isn't as much concern as even I worried about. There is always a risk, but I think in this case and where I live, it is very low, and the few possible diseases that can be transmitted are not life-threatening as far as I am understanding.

So cute! Im glad you found her!!

She's so cute. :) It's a good thing she ran into you so she'll have a nice, happy life. :)

oh my goodness, thank you for saving her!! she has the sweetest face :)

How did you get the mouse to not be afraid of you? Arent they supposed to be afraid of us humans?

She was exhausted and hungry yesterday. Today she remembered "Oh! I am a wild mouse!" and won't allow it anymore. Makes me a little sad because she is so darling, but I know it is a good thing because it means she is doing better.

haha thats cute! anyways good thing that didnt happen to me as i surely would have gotten rid of the mouse. i have a very great fear of mice. they scare me a lot even though they're harmless haha

Good on you most people would just let it run away. Good people like you exsist :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73