Cabin Critter the Eastern Hognose Snake

in #animals6 years ago

Good afternoon. I have run across the Eastern Hognose snake twice now. The first time I was really scared because I had no clue what kind of snake it was. When confronted these snakes suck air in and puff their heads up so they look like a Cobra. They even will hiss and lunge at you. Eventually they will flip over and play dead.
Bullsnake.jpg

It is a thick bodied snake. It can get up to 46" long. Thankfully they rarely bite and they aren't poisonous. Their favorite food is toads. We have lots of toads around.

This is another critter I would prefer not to see again. I know the Hognose snake means me no harm but I dislike snakes!! Thanks for stopping by!

IMG_0866.JPG

Sort:  

In my recent international travel, I got to hold and carry a snake in my arms for a good 15 minutes. Yikes!!!! It was scary, for sure! (And sorry, I can't upvote yet, but tomorrow, I will come by and upvote your post!) Have a great week. Take care.

I would have a difficult time holding a snake. Awesome you could do it!! I couldn't.

I hate snakes! Indiana Jones hates snakes! @mrs-v hates snakes! What a team!

Snakes are nasty! This one scared the crap out of me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54