Cabin Critters Bats

in #animals6 years ago

Good evening to you. Bats are very useful up north. Our cabin is basically surrounded by a forest. With all the trees and the neighbors pond it's a mosquito breeding ground. Bats can eat as many as 8,000 mosquitos per night. That's a lot of mosquitos!

Bat.jpg

Here is a fun fact I didn't know until now. When they eat a mosquito or other small bug they catch it in their cupped tail membranes and transfer it to their mouth during flight.

I have seen a few bats hanging from the porch eave and of course flying around at night so I thought I could attract them with a bat house. I have had the bat house up for more than 3 years and haven't had a single bat live there. Maybe next year I will get lucky.

Thanks for stopping by and have a good night.

20180506_105740-COLLAGE.jpg

Sort:  

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

No bats yet. 😩

I didn't know that bats were so useful. Living and learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57