Cabin Critters the Black Bear

in #animals6 years ago

Good afternoon. Today's cabin critter is the black bear. These guys are big. Adults are five to six feet long and weigh anywhere from 150 to 500 pounds.

Sorry this isn't the best picture. It was the only we got from our trail camera.
Bear.jpg

I did run across one that was behind the outhouse once. My dog Jazzy was with me and alerted me that it was there. The bear just ran away. @mr-vulcan has gotten a closer to a black bear than I have.

We had a few years where they were coming around often. This was mainly due to us (me) feeding birds and deer. They would come and take down and destroy our bird feeders and eat the seed. We even had the bird feeders on cable 12 feet above the ground. They are cleaver and resourceful when they are hungry. They still got to the bird feeders.
Feeders.jpg

Bear Ate Feeder.jpg

I stopped feeding the birds and deer and I haven't seen any at our place since. They are still around. The neighbors on our road talk about them coming around their place.

Thanks for taking a look and see you tomorrow. Hey @pit-bullion do you want a bird feeder for your birthday? 🤣🤣

20180506_105740-COLLAGE.jpg

Sort:  

We have know a bear for a while now. 😁

Does the bear come often? Have you named it yet? I think you need to correct the date setting if your camera. One will never know when the date and time stamp becomes critical information. I enjoyed this second one. I wonder what other critters will come your way?! I am fascinated!

I haven't seen a bear for a few years now. Once I stopped feeding the birds they stopped coming around. I did put up a hummingbird feeder this weekend but that shouldn't be enough to attract them back. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Yes! They are plentiful, and are not to be taken lightly! We need to be careful keeping food sitting out! Especially Pit when he's there alone!

Agreed! We try keep all food and food trash in the cabin so they don't have a reason to stop by.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

For a man who always lived in big cities, it is very strange to have a bear as a neighbour...

I haven't seen a bear for a few years now and that makes me happy!

I haven't seen a
Bear for a few years now and
That makes me happy!

                 - mrs-v


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73