Nangijala House Micro Animal Sanctuary

in #animals6 years ago


Nangijala House is a 15 resident Micro Sanctuary most of the residents are seniors and many are ex fighting/ bait dogs. Our story started out scary and bleak, we had lost our sanctuary at the Mutanthouse project to foreclosure during a 4 year battle for my disability. I Alex and the 10 sanctuary dogs and (at the time ) two sanctuary cats had 3 weeks to find a place to stay or face homelessness and possible death. Thankfully a kind stranger who is now a friend loaned me 10000 when I found this little house for exactly that amount online and we were safe. It would still be a year until I won my SSI case and times were incredibly rough but we received a ton of help from a lot of people whom without we would have not been able to survive.

In july 2017 I finally was awarded my first SSI check and with the back pay I repaid the loan and built a wheelchair ramp. Things are a lot better now but still not perfect the house needs some repairs (I still do not have hot water or a kitchen)and There are things we still go without. Still things are not bleak and grey as they were, there is a lot I can now do for myself now and that really improves life quality

Financially however it is still rough and things are now complicated when it comes to getting help. At Mutantanthouse I was never a 501c ,as I made a lot of money when I was working and financed out of pocket. Now I can lose my SSi if I get financial help and on my 735$ budget I cannot afford to become a 501c to be able to get help , classical dilemma.

Some have asked why I only get SSI and not normal disability. The reason is that I worked and lived most of my life in Europe and was missing 9 months to the required 10 years for the U.S - sucks but it is what it is. Right now things are super tight and we do need help in-between, although I hope to eventually become self-sufficient, so our wish list and vet costs are the best way to help us right now.

My illness is progressive it impacts my ability to walk and now is is slowly impacting my hands and fine motor skills. AS most of my income goes into the furkids Donations toward our Vet bill, Food donations for the kids, toys and blankets are always a blessing.

There are plans for the future obviously on my limited budget it might take a while but we will get there eventually
I want to give back to the universe , so to speak; so eventually I want to do things such as a monthly soup kitchen for my community, as well as put up a small community pantry and little road side free library. I will be documenting the transformation of our home as well as our working toward becoming as self sufficient and green as possible.

We are always thankful for support we always need things like cat/dog toys , Vegan pet food and treats, heartworm and flea medications . Plant seeds and building materials. Any monetary donations will go toward either the care of the furpeople in the house or repairs of the house and building spaces for them to play and enjoy themselves.

Our vet is country side animal hospital (252) 243-6952 you can call and leave donations toward (Account number 16331) it will then be set as a credit toward our monthly and running vetbills.

We also have an Amazon wishlist for those who would rather send something tangible
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/...

We also have a paypal [email protected] but sending witshlist items or paying toward the vet bill is better as I could get in trouble with the disability office otherwise.

and you can follow us on Facebook here > https://www.facebook.com/pg/nangijalahouse


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Welcome tygertyger, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

Thank you love :)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

The leopard is the most widespread of all big cats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66839.86
ETH 3105.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75