AnimalSunday Photography "Adopting Senior Dogs" by Sunscape

in #animalsunday5 years ago

1-lady awesome pose.JPG

This is a photo of my girl "Lady" whom I adopted at the age of 8 years old. She was skin and bones, full of matted hair and petrified of people when I saw her at the shelter. She apparently was used in a puppy mill and was chained outside her whole life.

I remember walking up to her cage and she was trembling in the corner, not sure of what I was going to do. I asked the attendent to bring her out into the greeting courtyard so I could visit with her. I went ahead of them and waited on a bench. When they brought her in and released her she stood about 8 or so feet from me just watching me. I knew that somehow she was going home with me so I spent an hour in that courtyard just sitting and talking to her.

When I got up to stretch my legs she backed up quickly, so I just walked slowly around the courtyard and to my amazement she followed me. She kept a good distance behind me, if I stopped she stopped. We did this for quite awhile until she felt comfortable with me. It did not take too long for her to get closer and closer to me.


lady windy woman.JPG


I was getting tired and I knew she was too, so I sat down on the gravel with my back up against the wall and she slowly walked towards me and layed down 4 foot from me. I sat there speaking softly to her and telling her how beautiful she was until the attendant told me that they were getting ready to close. I looked at Lady and said, what do you think girl? She just looked at me as I gently approached her and looped the leash around her neck. With a little nudge she followed me right out the door into the reception room where we checked her out of the center.

Long story short, we enjoyed 3 years of pure happy, joyful times with our girl. She was such a delightful companion and loved every minute of her golden years with us being spoiled to the hilt. When she passed away a couple years ago, we knew that if we ever got another dog that we would find a senior to adopt like we did Lady, and let them live their lives out in a loving home. She brought us so much joy, how can you not but love them back.


lady pretty face.JPG


Thank you @homeartpictures for creating the #animalsunday challenge, we do love our animals here on Steemit.




Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Website
Homesteaders Co-op - Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soap Shop

Sort:  

I'm having trouble seeing writing this reply, must be moisture in the air. Beautiful story with a happy ending... :-)

Oh you and me both, I get that way everytime I think of her. Thank you Mike.

Great post!
She’s a beautiful girl and deserved the beautiful life you provided her.
Steem on :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you JC she was the sweetest dog ever. I do miss her terribly from time to time.

What a wonderful dog smile at the end there. Touching story and nice to bring joy to a soul so tampered with.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for enjoying my story about Lady, she was a very special girl that brought such joy to our hearts.

Such a sweet and touching story about how you first meet her

Thanks, Jay, it was a meeting that was meant to be as I had not been to a shelter in years and I still don't know why I went that day, well yes I do, inner promptings. :-) She was an outstanding dog.

Funny you should say that when we got our cat we had no plan to but we were drawn to go into a pet store, and she was so cute and the store looked so bad we had to take her out of there, first visit was to a vet and we expressed our concerns about the store, he must have done somehting as two days later it was shut down, she was in such a bad state but we got her healthy and she had a good life with us

That is so awesome of you Jay. I can imagine how you felt, as I would have had to do the same thing. I am happy she enjoyed a good life with you both.

Ohh she did it was her house that she let us share with her, its funny even now as I am sitting typing replies I remember how she would come in every evening and reach up and tap my arm to tell me i should be focusing on patting her

That's what it's all about, loving on one another. I have one right now at my side, while I lay in bed posting. They are so faithful

So true, We do not have any pets now, as we will move in about a year, but after we move we plan to get one or two :)

We still have 3 cats and one dog. My husband said to me two days ago, you know honey, when each one passes I was thinking of not replacing them. I am getting too old to care for all them. He is getting a bit tired in his later years.

Ohhh sweet, beautiful girl, exploited at a puppy mill, but rescued near the end of her days - 3 years of a loving home after 8 years at the mill. I love senior dogs!! More of them should be adopted; puppies are a challenge and take at least a year to grow out the chewing phase. The Old Ones rule!! Bless you for giving this gal a loving home.

Awe thank you Carol, we could not leave her there to be put down. She was a wreck and then some, but we saw beyond that and loved her more than we could ever have imagined. Seniors rule!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95