Venus Project: Character Design and Concept Art

in #animation6 years ago (edited)

I'd like to start posting works in progress more, as that's something I've never done in my many years as a freelance artist. My latest commissioned gig seems like a good opportunity to post some early stages of the animation process. Hopefully some will find this interesting and I'll do my best to keep the updates flowing and share anything I can.

Project only has working title right now, so I'm just going to refer to it as The Venus Project. A longtime client/friend of mine got a budget together to make a little animated short film based on a book by his friend. I was humbled and quite honored to be involved in a piece of work on this level. Lots of creative freedom- so I find myself at a good stage to share some of the development process. I've been working on character design/possible style choices and seeing how well it mixed with the futuristic city I built as the setting. Mostly just playing with color, light, and style. Most of these will not be the final look. I tend to do this sort of experimentation before attacking a storyboard, as I like to understand the limitations and strengths of the chosen style. I plan to animate this character frame by frame and combining it with the pastel 3d imagery. Lots of ad hoc playing around happening for now.

Testing the extremes of lighting/shading with the city and train scene:


More experiments with sky and atmosphere:

Character design and rendering test:

Thanks to anyone that's interested! Have several other projects in the works that I plan on posting too.

Sort:  

This was meant to be from my account but fr how did I miss this!?

Also, you just reminded me: I need to post updates!

I'm down for it to look like more peeps are commenting XD

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75