Spring 2018 Anime Recommendation: Part 3

in #anime6 years ago

This is the third part of my list so if you haven't seen the previous two, then check the first part and the second part if you'd like. A lot of good ones are listed there so be sure to take a look if you are in need of something good to watch.

Now for the continuation, I am finally at the last part where I will be talking about sequels that are totally worth your time. Let's start!

1. Boku no Hero Academia (My Hero Academia)

Genres: Action, Comedy, School, Shounen, Super Power

Remember when shounen series used to flare a burning resolve inside our heart? The moment when our favorite MC stood up against an insurmountable amount of opposition but at the end of the day managed to breakthrough a pinch by surpassing his limits? I am sure that no matter the age this genre would be one that would hold a special place in our hearts, but how is it faring today? Well there are still a lot of good ones but even anime is no exception to the law of scarcity because as much as I love the genre, I can't help but think that things aren't as good as they were before and I can't help but feel like I am just re-watching a series again and again but with different characters and under a different title, that is until I watched Boku no Hero Academia.

heroacd.png

You might think that Boku no Hero Academiais a revolutionary addition to the genre based on what I mentioned earlier but I will tell you it is not. It started of as any other show under the genre would, the protagonist aims to be the number one hero just like the guy that wants to be the pirate king or that guy that wants to be the hokage. The protagonist meets a mentor, someone that will guide him towards the path he has chosen for himself, then made friends and rivals along the way that will traverse the same path as him. Then the villains enter the fray and the fight between good and evil ensues. See? It is just like every other shounen series no matter how you look at it but there is something in it that sets it apart from the others. Is it the good fight choreography? The charismatic set of characters? Eye candy and stunning animation? Yeah those are pretty good qualities that a shounen series would benefit from but that's not it, that is not what made Boku no Hero Academia a fantastic series for me, it is the emotions and the impact of the scenes that gives me chills even when re-watching it, its like that time when I used to raise my hand for Goku or the time that I feel bitter about Shohoku's loss against Kainan. It engages you and stirs emotions that makes you want to root for the heroes, something that I think most shounen series these days lack.

unitedstates.png
OF SMASHHHH !!!!!

I want to keep this short so I will end it here. But trust me, there is a reason why the show is already on its third season. And as a bonus point, they don't do fillers here

2. Steins;Gate 0

Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller

The return of the mad scientist Rintarou Okabe a.k.a. Okarin a.k.a.Hououin Kyōma . Or maybe let's drop Hououin Kyōma because he is no longer the same eccentric guy we knew back in the original series, after all,this season is about the route where Rintarou failed and gave up on saving Kurisu so the guy is kind of in a gloomy mode so cut him some slack.

ikarin.png

To those who have no idea what this show is about, it is about time travel guys! How cool is that? Yeah it is cool and games until someone dies. The concept of time travel has always been one of the most interesting tropes to date, but the degree of difficulty of using it from a scientific stand point is extremely high. It is not like the one at Re:Zero where you try out different things, clear out the hindrance after several tries then reach a new save point. Steins; Gate 0 or the series as a whole is more complex as they factor the repercussion of ones actions. "If you save someone others might end up dying in their stead" kind of thing. That aspect is what made the series a hit and earned it a great and solid following in the community.

steins.png

Now back to the current season, if you would check out MAL or find reviews about this then you would most likely stumble upon a comment that goes like this :"this is darker and more thrilling blah blah". To be honest, it was quite a long time since I last watched the first installation so I can't really make that comparison but I can at least say that this series is indeed worthy of having that thriller tag in there because the current episodes are always keeping me at the edge of my seat. At the moment, the show is only half-way through its run so a lot could still happen since many mysteries and questions are still unanswered and this show has been proven to drop like a bomb at the end so I am looking forward to what the show has in store for us.

steins3.png

3. Shokugeki no Souma (Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma)

Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen

Another shounen series on my list but I think this is the one that deserves to be called revolutionary. Imagine all the shounen tropes I mentioned earlier and then apply them to cooking.

The show is about Souma Yukihira, a guy from a small diner that was sent to study at Japan's most famous culinary school - Tootsuki Culinary Academy. However the school is strict and known for only having 10 percent of its students graduate, therefore only the best of the best gets to see the end of the course. Not to mention, high stake cooking showdowns called Shokugeki are permitted to settle disputes and other sort of problems as long as the opposing parties agree to the conditions set. Seems like a difficult life is up ahead for our protagonist right? But that is not the end to it, on his first day, Souma declared that he will take the top spot in the academy that earned him hate from majority of the students but also intrigued the bigwigs of the academy, the Tootsuki Elite Ten Council.

soma.png

Honestly, I am not here for the plot. I am not saying that it is bad but it is not that good either and you can find lots of other shows with more interesting premise than this one, but this show is saved by its characters, more specifically Souma and the entertaining shokugeki bouts (foodgasms baby!). So how does Souma saves the show? It is his personality, he is a carefree, confident and hard working young man that walks the talk. The build up for his big moments are always exciting to watch and always leads up to satisfying conclusions. This might sound impudent, but I think this guy is the best protagonist I have seen in recent years since all we get these days are wishy washy MCs that lacks backbone.

soma2.png

And for the Shokugeki tasting reactions. No words can ever describe them.

shokugeki.png

soma3.png


I guess that completes my list. Thank you everyone for reading and have a good day!
Ciao~

Sort:  

@ascheriit just browsing and saw your anime post; got me curious. Haha...love your written content keep up the great work! Upvote your post to support. Hope we can support each other!!!

Thanks and let's get along :)

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 23.33% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi ascheriit,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much!

Awesome article @ascheriit nicely written, very good!

Thank you :)

I knew this one would get curied. Thought I have voted this one already yesterday lol I would have gotten big curation rewards from this :)

Thank you for the kind words. Though I am actually still in a trance because it was the first time I received such a big amount of support in my stay here lol.

Well done @ascheriit! You successfully guessed the match result.

Semi Finals - France vs Belgium
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89