You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Rokujouma no Shinryakusha!?" - What Harem anime should be

in #anime6 years ago

Short on time ATM so not long comment here: loved this one :)
It's kind of unique in the harem genre because it's not so heavily focused on the ecchi part and instead is more focused on the comedy and slice of life part. I loved how they constantly argued for space and fought amongst themselves with the MC in the midst of it all.
It really isn't the best show of them all, but it does leave a good aftertaste. Time running out, see ya!

Sort:  

That is why I liked this one, it proved once again that there is more to harem than just sprinkling it with a lot of ecchiness. It focused on the character development and hinted a deeper underlying plot (that we won't fully grasp unless we read the source material) which only few dare to try. I am rooting for a second season but that might be a pipe dream lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

At this point I believe it's a pipe dream, just like many others in the past... the only two that have actually touched me to the point of making me read the manga are Air Gear and No Game No Life (novel in this case), I don't regret reading either, lol. I have had a ton of bad experiences with the harem genre, just like with the yuri genre, as it's usually just full of ecchiness and pretty bad overall, but there are few exceptional cases where it works quite well, in fact, no matter how you look at it Steins Gate is a harem, we got Kyouma and a ton of girls (and one bishonen) but that's not the focus; so it only makes it more interesting :D

Did you actually read the source material for this one? Just plain curiosity.

As things got pretty hectic for me, it is on my queue list for now lol. In my case the ones that got me to read the source material are The world god only knows, Seto no hanayome, Shokugeki no soma, Tokyo ghoul (because the anime is kinda meh) and Medaka box. I had a lot of free time when I was in college so I got to read a lot but I forgot most of them by now (most are from the infamous ecchi genre too so I am not keen on stating them anyway lol).

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, I CAN'T believe I forgot to include The world god only knows in my list!!! it's one of the few that got to me and made me read the manga (which BTW is totally awesome). I don't know about Seto no hanayome, guess I need to search and see if it interests me. For now I'm just watching the anime of Soma and Tokyo Ghoul, I've heard many people tell me the same about the difference between manga and anime in Tokyo Ghoul, maybe I do need to make some time to search for it.
Medaka box brings back memories because the anime was good but not THAT good either, yet many people tell me that Medaka Box's manga is leagues better than the anime so it kinds of intrigues me.

TWGOK truly is one of the harem genre's masterpiece. Keima is a legendary MC that deserves all the love in the series because he earned them through his abilities and charms. I am just sad that all my ships sunk though.

Seto no Hanayome is one of my first few anime so it is a bit founded on my nostalgic factor but I seriously had the best laugh watching it. If you are into comedy then I will encourage you to watch it hehe.

Shokugeki is following the manga closely so it is fine to watch it only but as for Tokyo Ghoul, just read it for now and see for yourself the difference.

I can vouch for the manga version of Medaka Box being supreme to the anime version. Not to say that the adaptation was bad, but they left off on the exciting part, intrpduction of Kumagawa. The show dragged its feet during its run and only managed to be really entertaining during Unzen's introduction which is the end of the first season and the second season is overall better than season 1 because of the 13 party but, as I was saying, got cut off on the best part.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for all the recs!!! I might pick up on these suggestion, I'm already downloading Nichijou which you recommended to me before... might as well add more to the list ^^.

Glad to be able to spread the word lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85