Re-movie: Sangatsu no Lion

in #anime6 years ago

Hey steemians, how's it going? Welcome to this new section of my blog which we will call "Re-movie", this will be a section in which I will talk about series and movies with my usual style that many of you must be used to. In this section, unlike what I do in The Review, I do not plan to score the series or movies I talk about in any way. Having said that, I think I'm done with the formalities, so let's start with the first edition of Re-movie.

Since I've seen series or movies, I've always liked the stories that "come out of the mold" so to speak. The stories that come out of the typical are what I love, see Barakamon, Breaking Bad, Split...And you're just to mention a few. All those named above are great titles, but today I will not talk about any of these works, today in Re-movie I will talk about Sangatsu no Lion.

SANGATSU NO LION

SOURCE

Sangatsu no Lion tells us the story of Rei Kiriyama, a student who, despite his young age, is already a professional shogi player.

Kiriyama is a lonely and introverted boy, but with the passage of time he has formed a relationship with Akari, Hinata and Momo, the Kawamoto sisters, who for some reason have a large number of cats.

The synopsis of this series in principle may seem boring and can easily lead us to think that it is not worth even seeing it. It does not have a synopsis that attracts attention and does not seem to have one of those stories that catch you from the beginning as if they have series like Death Note, Stranger Things or other series. "Sangatsu no Lion is a slice of life of the bunch"...That's what I thought until I saw the series.

SOURCE

Sangatsu no Lion shows us the life of Rei Kiriyama and the path she must go to become an adult, a path that will be full of bright emotions and that will have gray touches of melancholy as the life of any other.

The art of Sangatsu no Lion is something I love, the way in which Rei's emotions are reflected through the color palette is simply great. In the moments when Rei is with the Kawamoto sisters, with Nikaido or her teacher we can see those pastel shades, warm and bright colors. And on the other hand when he is in his solitude and has those internal dialogues, we are shown cold and dark colors, colors that reflect his loneliness and the sadness that he feels. In addition to this I should also mention the great artistic work present in the plans, the backgrounds and the animation, a high quality work that make Sangatsu no Lion a simply beautiful series in terms of visual appearance. refers.

SOURCE

And well we could not expect less from an anime from SHAFT, famous japanese animation studio best known for being responsible for series such as Madoka Magica and Monogatari Series. I think that knowing a little about the study that is behind this series I think that they should give it a try, although of course, this is only my opinion. Better let's continue.

The story shows us how Rei little by little stops having a cold and distant personality thanks to the Kawamoto sisters and the rest of the people that she knows thanks to shogi. And although it seems that the shogi has a great importance in this series, it is not about the traditional Japanese game, the series is about Rei's life...the loss of her parents, the isolation of her adoptive family, her loneliness , the harassment, and more than anything: about Rei's search to find that way of life and his constant battle with himself.

SOURCE

And although the series is starred by Rei Kiriyama, it is not just about him. Sangatsu no Lion has a large number of characters, all unique, and this series differs from the rest by giving a great development and depth to all, going through Hina who is a main character until Shimada is a secondary character, and even the old Yanagihara of the association of shogi players who is a tertiary character.

From my point of view Sangatsu no Lion is a great series, although of course, I am aware that this is a very subjective opinion on my part, but I love this series, but of course, that's not why you you will do it. This series has a slow pace and focuses mostly on the development of its characters, so do not expect action as in Shingeki no Kyojin, Naruto or Dragon Ball, although I speak about the latter when it was good, of course.

So if you are one of those who prefer stories with a faster pace and action scenes at all times, maybe this series is not for you, but it's fine, for tastes colors.

SOURCE

Sangatsu no Lion is a series that I would define with a single word..."simple", and do not get me wrong, when I say it's simple, I mean it's just beautiful. The series raises a silly premise, the life of a shogi player, but the way in which this series develops goes beyond that premise and the one posed by any other slice of life in the bunch, and if the you will discover that Sangatsu no Lion is much more than what it seems to be with the naked eye. Although if after all I have said you do not believe me, just observe this.

SOURCE

I love Sangatsu no Lion because it has everything that I like to see in an anime. And well I think this is all, if you liked it, do not forget to vote and tell me what you think about Sangatsu no Lion, so we talk a little. Anyway, I'm Jacks and see you soon in a next post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61081.38
ETH 2930.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70