The emotional debate of Subs vs Dubs in anime and games - Part I

in #anime6 years ago

Everywhere you go, whether it is online or in real life, whenever the subject of Subs vs Dubs comes up, it does strange things to people. It turns the normally docile, friendly, intelligent and sympathetic human being into a deranged, frothy-mouthed juvenile, happily slinging petty insults interspersed with absolutely incoherent sentences, almost as if the word 'Subs' or 'Dubs' is a code word to trigger your previous religious out-of-body experience whilst under the influence of the ayahuasca.

images.jpg

It is strange isn't it? Why do people care about how other people consume their media? I could tell you I still have some VHS tapes in my collection and you wouldn't even bat an eyelid, but as soon as I tell you I am a Subs or a Dubs person, that look of disgust on your face would make any tsundere jealous.

download.jpg

Having said that, I am also passionate about my hobbies. I had already decided which category I am, so for the purpose of this discussion, I decided to go out of my way and listen to the other side of the argument, and re-evaluate my stance, like any other averaged IQ person would do. I mean, if I was a super smart guy, I would have known which one is better, without even having to think about the other side of the perspective, right? right? How could I lay the claim that I am passionate about my hobbies, if I am only ever sticking to what I know?

So let's get it out there: I am a Subs guy. As expected, I would be explaining why I think subs is more superior(at least to me). But before I do, I want to share a few fun findings and why I also think Dubs is a necessity in the market. Here's some of the interesting ones:

An American guy says he is dyslexic. On some of the faster dialogues, as in the case with Oregairu, there's no way he could keep up with the subtitles. The guy is extremely smart and successful, like many dyslexics, unable to read and write like the majority of the people is not a reflection of his intellect.

I think this is a perfectly valid reason why Dubs is a necessity.

A French woman says she is a student/house wife. She loves watching anime whilst doing house work. Especially when ironing, it is very difficult to read subtitles whilst trying not to burn your fingers. She tells me that French daytime TV is either too political or too depressing for house work. She loves the way anime gives her a few chuckle and makes her chores seem more fun. Try watching One Piece in French, it is an experience anyone should have at least once in their lifetime, especially an episode you have not seen before.

e0742387862efea733a44f337d575a39.jpg

I also think this is a perfectly valid reason why Dubs is a necessity. Co-incidentally, France is a huge market for anime. It is one of the biggest markets outside of Japan, although China, Taiwan and Hong Kong are fast catching up but it is not uncommon to find anime shops in France and see it packed with French girls and guys clamouring for the next merch.

A Russian guy tells me that his TV in his bedroom is simply too small for subtitles. He really didn't enjoy all that squinting and in his own words, "while taking shots of vodka".

It is imperative for the 'Subistas' to appreciate that Dubs has a market. Also, related to the the above, if anyone has ever come across Love Live's µ's song, START:DASH in Russian, you would know that the quality of the dubbing is probably very, very high. Although I hardly speak any Russian, so I can't tell you how good the actual dubbing is. If anyone does, please feel free to let me know what you think for my future reference.

The end of Part One. (Is there an acronym for Too Long:Didn't Write?). Now the Dubists can happily go away, scoring a vital imaginary point against the Subistas. Not so fast. Next up, despite the above, why I am still loyal to Subs religion

Sort:  

Congratulations @tomdean! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tomdean! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67