Three Nights In The Van

in #antares5 years ago

(Originally Posted on 14th May 2018 - on my own website)

So I have just completed my third night sleeping in the van! The first two I spent in the car park in front of my parents house – a kind of safety blanket and test to see how things went.
The third night – last night – I actually had my first night of stealth camping.

So I want to state right up front now and be honest, there is definitely a psychology factor that has to be overcome. Like most of us I have lived in a house “sticks and bricks” all my life. So to suddenly start sleeping in a van, let alone live in it comes as quite a psychological shock to the system. I went through a fair amount of stress and anxiety leading up to this I can tell you. So when you see all the Youtube videos of people living in a van and making it look so easy and fantastic, just remember if you are considering this way of life, or even for temporary period for a extended trip, there is going to be some mental adjustment.

The first night, I got very little sleep. Mainly due to teething issues. I had to fix the mattress as the two halves kept sliding apart. They are now velcroed together which has fixed the issue. Also there is just nothing like your own bed. So when sleeping somewhere else it feels strange and different at first.

Second night was better, I got more sleep, though still a little cold during the wee hours.
Finally the third night – my first one truly stealth camping – I took my sleeping bag with me and had that over the top of my quilt. Wow what a difference, nice and cosy and warm.

stealth-camping-city-fb.jpg

My plan of action – which I followed last night stealth camping – is to find my night spot and head to that spot at 11pm. By then most people are either in bed asleep, or sitting down watching tv with their curtains closed. In fact as I reached my chosen spot nearly all of the houses had lights off, so obviously in bed.

I did jump out of the van and walked down the street for 5 minutes. Most people if they look out of their window and see a vehicle turn up will expect to see someone get out. I then doubled back and sneaked back in.
Once my door was closed I already had the van set up for bed mode so jumped in. Got on my laptop and internet for forty minutes then went to kip.

Still not quite back to my normal sleeping pattern yet as still adjusting mentally. But I did sleep.
I woke up about 5:30am, laid there for a bit then headed out by 6:00am and went to a country layby where I packed the van into day mode and got ready for my day. This will be my routine. Get in after most people are asleep and then get out before most wake up. They don’t even know you were there :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93