You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Communication: Part 2 - The anthropological study of language - The connection between language and culture

in #anthropology6 years ago

Hi @zest! I'm really loving these posts! Culture, expression, and language is a fascinating topic to me.

"It is, for instance, possible for speakers of a language to learn or invent new words, and vocabularies may be extended when necessary."

I was abruptly introduced to how various people groups invent new words and change their vocabulary when I worked with people from Guatemala. For months I thought they spoke Spanish, until one of them finally convinced me that the others had no idea what I was trying to say to them. I thought he was joking, but then I learned that they actually spoke Q’anjob’al, Quiché, and Chuj, and they had a difficult time understanding each other.

Sort:  

Hi !!!!
This is a perfect example, I could have used this in my post!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69671.74
ETH 3835.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49