😄WEIRD THINGS IN MY SHOP - A TOUR!😄

in #antique6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

HAPPY MONDAY PEEPS! I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. I was so excited to just chill and see some friends. I spent most of Sunday evening (from about 6pm) in bed, watching series. Probably for the first time in months. It's freezing here and I was just so knackered. Most enjoyable, I do say!


Today I was taking some shots for the website, and I just realised how weird some of the items are in the shop. Fokken weird, bro!! 😋😋 Let me show you what I mean.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.43.15 (9).jpeg

Some random old people we recently found on one of the mantlepieces. The frame just popped up one day, and no one knows where it comes from. Accompanied by some kitsch AF cherub candlesticks. I have no idea why I bought them!

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22.jpeg

Pigs. Gold, copper, lumo green. A relic of one of the old owners. He bought about 50 of these stupid things and they just did not sell. They used to be white, and to make them more interesting, we painted them all sorts of mad colours.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22 (5).jpeg

The shop also has a lot of taxidermy, which does quite well for shoots and rentals. Some is just creepy (ever seen Bad Taxidermy?) and some rather cool. I love this turtle though. Definitely not creepy in my books.

Here are some crazy bad taxidermy pics for you guys :

c0f7691bb163e92b52e41c93067cefc0.jpg

bad-taxidermy-pics.jpg

o-HILARIOUSLY-BAD-TAXIDERMY-facebook-550x600.jpg

source

LOLOLOL!

We also have a strange collection of bunnies at the shop, some carved wood and quite hideously cute, and some actually quite sweet. I always think that the cream one looks like the bunny in Donnie Darko.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22 (6).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22 (7).jpeg

And, now, one of my favourite ever ugly items. A flippen blowfish lamp. Seriously? It is sooo ugly. I bought it cuz I thought it was so ugly that someone would love it. Wrong! No one has loved it so far!

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22 (8).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.44.22 (9).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.46.25.jpeg

And now for another ugly pig. I like this one's colour. It's kinda cute now.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.46.25 (2).jpeg

My favourite grumpy, stern faced countess. The story with her is that she was a countess in a castle in Bavaria. Looks quite unhappy. I rather like this piece and am sure it will sell soon.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 14.46.25 (4).jpeg

So what did you think of all my weird pieces? Which would you buy, and which did you hate?

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

I think I'd probably have to have the blowfish lamp. It'd fit right in around here...

My mom collected pigs. Mostly ceramic, but pigs. One of my friends kidnapped one and sent ransom notes from all over the US. Another one found a pair of nude, reclining pigs. He gave them to my mom. So far as I know she never displayed them, but she still had them the day she died. All the other pigs had gone away :)

How fun. That's a great post.

ah, i love pigs too! Love that story about the kidnapped piggies, that is just too sweet for words :)

Ok, that is some weird shit. So many animals with crazed looks on their faces. Yet, it’s art!! Someone at some point decided that this would be a great artistic piece. Voila, weird stuff in your store... lol I can imagine you see some strange stuff when going through homes.

haha, yes, most definitely. Almost every day I have someone trying to sell me something, and sometimes, it's complete and utter JUNK!

Agreed!!!!! They are quite weird. Especially that golden thing that looks like a fish with thorns all over. It gives me the creeps. And the rabbit, yackkkkkk. You really do have good stomach.

that's a blow fish! You know the fish that protect itself by blowing up and pricking any one who touches it with it's poison?

Haha what a strange shop, who buys these things haha :P :P ;) That blowfish lamp is not that ugly, it's really interesting. I hope it lights the room good :D If not, then it's really ugly!

So many crazy ideas in this world :D Thanks for sharing it with us!

A lot of the times the weird pieces go into hotels and retail shops for decor, and we also rent a lot out to the film industry.

Your posts are always interesting @princessmewmew. Wonderful pieces indeed. The grumpy Countess is a great piece but I really enjoyed the Blowfish. Thanks for sharing.

thanks so much. When i bought the fish, I thought it was just so cool. Now I think it is weird, haha

OMGosh! Some of those taxidermy pieces look frightful! I loved that you posted them!

Come one now! Those pigs are just freaking cute, no? I love these kinds of shops and that Barvarian picture. Yes, please.

Also, throw in that marble top, carved piece. Oh, yes!!

Great post! Can we visit again sometime soon???

Tip! Worthy

hehe, you are always welcome ;)

i also love the Countess. She's very special

OMG, those little angels reminds of being at my grandma's as a little kids. Those things were EVERYWHERE!!! 😂

hehe, yes, most grannies have way too many cherubs. Bad grandma!

The bear seriously cracks me up. I'd buy it, name him Brickleberry, and use him as a background prop for videos.

hehehe! Make him your imaginary friend. Oh hey there, Brickleberry!

Really weird, lol especially the tortoise.

yup! but i kinda like the turtle.

Lol that photo next to the angles its very creepy, i like the blowfish lamp, but i wouldn't buy it haha too weird

yeah! nice to look at or take in a for a bit, but not in your home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75