Magnificent Ancient Mortar Stone (Mayan?)

in #antiques6 years ago

I want to show you these two pictures of an Indian mortar stone, in Spanish we call them metate or molcajete, they were used for grinding corn. This particular stone has been in the hands of its owners for over 50 years, it was found during an excavation, I think they were building a well, and it was at about 10 feet deep so I am guessing it is very old.

Being that where it was found was one of the first places the Spaniards conquered in Honduras, and that was around 500 years ago, I guess it must be way older than that, I would put its age at at least 7 or 800 years old, of course this is just a guess it is probably older.

I have been told that the head is an image of a turtle, I frankly can't see that resemblance , but then what do I know?

The stone is in perfect shape, of course a little worn out because of its age, it is about 9"x 14" and it is quite heavy, I mean it is a rock. I don't know what kind of rock it is though, I guess it takes an expert to know that kind of thing. I am thinking it must be Mayan, because I have seen similar sculptures that resemble the head on this mortar in Mayan archaeological photos.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @gduran ! You received a 28.80% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

upvoted and resteem from kryptonia @elsenior.crox

Upvoted and resteemed by rubelynmacion of kryptonia

Upvoted and resteemted, my id @jamescrusader

Upvote
Won @superiorcoin doing this taks 100SUP+
perform this first task now, and you will have the opportunity to earn more than 100 @superiorcoin by doing my otrs task.
Superior Coin is now preparing for a Significant growth , @kryptonia is his faithful friend to make the ecosystem that will make @superiorcoin rise to the moon. Continue promoting your's post in @steemit from kryptonia.io if you need more coins you can Miner or simply
Buy Superior Coin
buysup.PNG
follow me , my @kriptonia ID is Ftrundle and My Steemit ID @lipito I'll be upvoting your publications

Son bonitas las piedras y se ve que están ya desgastándose, aunque todavía les queda mucho tiempo de uso. Saludos @gduran desde Kryptonia, id @isabelpena

Congratulations ... you are amazing & Excellent photography..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69