🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAYS - A BRASS COAL SCUTTLE 🌟

Antique Thursday Cover.jpg

Happy Thursday y'all! I am so excited to share with you this amazing brass coal scuttle.

It's one of those pieces that has been lying around my shop, hiding out in the corner, for a long while.

One of my team members picked it up and gave it a super elbow grease polish, and now it is super shiny. The magpie in me could not walk past without taking some photos.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-28 at 12.11.48.jpeg

Here in SA, fireplace accessories are quite uncommon. Where I grew up, we didn't even have a fireplace LOL, just our outdoor braai or barbeque. It was super warm all the time.

Only since I started working in antiques have I come to learn about things like fire screens, coal scuttles and firedogs. AND I LOVE THEM!!

I think it is amazing how there is this entire set of interior decorations dedicated just to making your fireplace look pretty. You guys up in the Northern Hemisphere must think I'm nuts, hehehehe.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-28 at 12.11.47.jpeg

I don't really have much info on this piece, but I would say it is probably fifty to seventy years old, and therefore, not quite antique, but rather vintage.

Such a pretty piece, am I right?

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



🌸MARKET FRIDAY - ATLAS TRADING - CAPE MALAY SPICE SHOP🌸
⭐️ANTIQUE THURSDAY - A MOST CLASSY BAR TROLLEY ⭐️
ADSactly Food - 🌭Let's Talk About Hotdogs

🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

My very special angel - Part 2 - by @lizelle
Washington's Measle Outbreak and Vaccinations by @whatsup
We Need Emergency Help, Fast by @tarc

footer.png

Sort:  

Wow. I love this brass coal scuttle. It seems like it is made with gold all around the body

Oh this is gorgeous @princessmewmew, I'm sure this beauty could tell many stories, really special :)
Thank you so much for the shout out, you're very kind!

I've never seen nor heard of these before... how unique!

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

When we bought the money pit it didn't have a proper fireplace, but a coal grate. The surroundings for it were beautiful (Italian Marble on the floor) but it was too small for the roaring fire Syd and I both loved. That doesn't mean we didn't buy a coal scuttle that was iron to accessorize it.

This would have looked just terrific in front of that fireplace. It truly is a gorgeous piece.

That is a very pretty piece, now all i need is a fireplace. :)

When I was growing up fireplaces were quite common but i never saw such a cool Coal Scuttle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94