Whites only days

in #apartheid5 years ago


source
I can remember these signs like it was yesterday they were everywhere.

Last night I was asked what it was like growing up in South Africa from a white persons perspective and seeing something threw my eyes. I don't think it is something you can just do over one post so maybe I will do them as I get my thoughts together.

I grew up in Cape Town, South Africa and went to a government school. A government school in those days was for whites only and was most likely if I compared it to today ,like a private school in most other countries.I say that as we had about 8 sports fields and every facility under the sun. I joined the school when I was about 10 having come down from Rhodesia (Zimbabwe). My dad was a chef and he changed jobs like we changed our underwear. He never stayed in a job for too long and most chefs were the same back then.

The time period if any of you are wondering is the late 70's early eighties. I was a youngster who knew no different and only cared about playing sport. Black people worked for white people and that was how it looked to me and that was reality. I saw the same in Rhodesia as most houses had servants such as a cook, cleaners and gardeners. In Rhodesia it was maybe a status thing to have some servants as it was still like colonial times.
Sune-District6-memory-option-2-1-1600x800.jpg
source
District Six was flattened as it became rezoned as a white area.

The residential areas were zoned and whites lived in white areas and blacks in their areas. The poor Indians and coloreds were sandwiched in between more like a defensive barrier. A black person had to travel quite a distance to get to work. I can remember district six which was a suburb in Cape Town on the mountain side just outside the city center. This area was basically demolished as they moved the colored community out and rehoused them else where. This was done tactically which I will touch on later. We had one colored family living in our area and they were moved out and the house was demolished. I knew the boy there as we played together during most of the holidays and weekends.

I never knew any black kids growing up except for the children from the private schools. The private schools had black kids from foreign African countries and were most likely belonging to diplomats.There weren't many though and it was fairly rare to see. When you grow up knowing no different as though this is the norm then you are ignorant to what is really happening around you. As I grew up I could see the problems and what was slowly brewing. This was a powder keg and rightly so.

Cape Town is generally a very liberal area so honestly besides the obvious signs everywhere it wasn't as bad as other areas of the country. Racism was far worse in the Afrikaans dominated areas. We were predominantly a white speaking region and were seen as foreigners and not pure bred South Africans by the true Afrikaaners. I realised that when I went to the Army later on.
wp-content%2Fuploads%2F2015%2F06%2FSigns-13.jpg%2Foriginal.jpg
source

When I traveled on the train I had to use the first 4 carriages as that was for whites only or net blankes which is Afrikaans for the whites only tag. These 4 carriages were the same except we had cushioned seats. The next 4 carriages were second class and were for Indians and coloreds who sat on plastic molded seats. The last 4 were for black people and they had wooden benches. There were conductors on the trains who policed everything making sure everyone stayed in the right carriages. If you were a black person you listened to the "baas" or boss otherwise you would end up in trouble.

Stupid things like the cinema or restaurants were for whites only and blacks were not allowed. Hotels were the same except for the Carlton Hotel in Johannesburg where blacks were allowed in. This was most likely for visiting politicians from neighboring countries. My dad was in the hotel and restaurant game and had black staff working for him, but they weren't allowed to eat in the restaurant.

source

The beaches was a big thing as blacks were allowed to sell ice creams and such, but were not allowed on the beach. The blacks had their own beaches and to be honest were the crappier ones. I don't know if they had shark nets or not. Most likely a majority of their beaches didn't back then. The public swimming pools also were closed to them and you would see the cleaners, but no blacks were allowed to enter as a customer.

I don't know if they had public pools in their area as we seldom moved into their neigbourhoods as firstly they were far away and we would be taking a risk. I think the furthest I traveled into a so called non white area was to play against a cricket club that was made up of colored players. This is how it was back then and to be honest you felt uncomfortable. Was this just for show as it was made out to be something big.


source

I used to love going to watch the provincial sports at the stadiums and even there they had segregation. Newlands rugby stadium had a non white section and it wasn't a seating area for them, but standing room only. I actually have tried to rack my brain where a non white person had the same privileges as whites back then and can't think of one. Hospitals were segregated,parks, public toilets and the list goes on.Actually there was one and that was the Comrades Marathon where anyone could enter as an equal.


source

The first I knew there was trouble brewing was when I was in High School and there were University Students handing out communist leaflets with the ANC emblem on them. Most of the students were rounded up by the police and God knows what happened to them. I knew about Mandela by then as he was In Pollsmoor prison which wasn't that far away from where I lived. Robben Island was still functioning as a prison and knew their were political prisoners on it, but that was it for the information really. We never knew of the brutality that was happening behind the scenes.

I can recall the song by Eddie Grant called give me hope which was banned in the country. I think that was the first banning I ever knew. If you listen to the lyrics it is all about South Africa and Joanna is in fact Johannesburg.


source

The television was full of propaganda showing the National Party and the army doing various things. We never really saw the trouble that was going on behind the scenes. The first I knew about it was in the last few years of school as we were being called up for duty. There is nothing worse knowing the call up papers are coming and you are going to be shipped off to some distant place where they speak a language you hardly understand.

Afrikaans was compulsory in the schooling system and I hated every second of it. I know it is similar to Dutch, but I just didn't see the point. Give me French or Spanish or anything but that. You can't use it anywhere else in the world and it is spoken by a few only. The English schools were looked down upon by the Afrikaans schools as we didn't think like them with what was going on.


source

I will continue this in another post as I have hardly touched on some things and it needs more thought.
'

Sort:  

Wow, that is crazy. I think a lot of this kind of stuff happened over here before I was born. It was never really an issue where I lived though. Even in the North, we were just defacto segregated. I grew up out in the country and I think the whole time I was in school there were probably only two African American kids in our whole school district. Which is surprising because just 10 to 15 minutes away in the nearest town is a multi-national corporation that has people of various ethnic backgrounds coming and going at all times. I think things have gotten better, but there are still many country areas around where I live that racism runs rampant.

This story was a riveting read. The details of the Apartheid system are something I've never been too familiar with. I know housing areas, buses, beaches and so on and so forth were segregated but exactly how and to what extent, I've never learned. Were the city centers open to everybody? What about highways?

What's interesting about systems like that are the loopholes, the exceptions and the glitches in the system. In the early days of the Iron Curtain in Berlin, you could open a window in an apartment in West Berlin to the eastern side. Below, you'd see a small square or a street. Spies used to move between the zones using forgotten maintenance tunnels in the underground railway network. Fascinating stuff.

City centers were open to everyone. Lots of the things today are from what happened then. Taxis or mini vans that travel from townships to there work places are because of segregation on public transport. I would have used taxis as well as everyone is equal then. Everything was segregated with very few exceptions.

There is a childhood memory of mine while travelling through the US south with my family while on our way to Florida from the Great White North. It is the memory of seeing the more succinct "Whites Only" sign on most restraunts and hotels.

It makes one wonder how much has really changed when one looks at wealth distribution in SA or the incarceration rates of Blacks in the US.

Certainly, forward movement has been made, yet it seems on the scale of moving from slavery to Jim Crow as opposed to true equality.

I was thinking about this earlier and change has happened. Some too much as it is like payback now for what was done to them. In other areas very little change has happened and still today we see reports of a whites only bed and breakfast.Racism is still here and it is getting worse from what I see. There is a hatred on both sides and they despise each other. No one talks about it but you can see it in peoples attitudes.

your post was ... Great !

A true reminder of what we should never forget !

thanks for sharing it, I will save it ;)

Thank you. I will do some follow ups as there is still a lot that I haven't even mentioned. The sanctions that started happening etc. How it just suddenly changed and why. I wasted 2 years and a few months doing army camps and wouldn't have done them if I had seen this coming.

I'm very interested in these follow-ups you're mentioning. I am especially looking forward to the sudden change part.

Renewed congratulations @cryptoandcoffee ! and so I will follow ! It's so important.. !

I really like your style of writing and the daily subjects you're talking about !

All the best dear !

@anttn

ps : sorry for the late answer and thanks you for taking time to answer me :)

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8500 replies. Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! that is amazing information, I hadn't heard about how segregated it was. Just like in the South over here until they started getting rid of it in the 60's.

This was very interesting to read, @cryptoandcoffee. Something I did not know, is that apparently "coloured" and "black" are/were considered two different things? What's that all about?

Racism is such a widely-disparaged thing these days that it seems so ridiculous to think that this sort of state-sanctioned discrimination happened, yet it's important that we all continue to remind ourselves that it did. Especially as the younger generations have no memory of a world like this at all. They're the ones most in danger of allowing this to happen again.

Also, on a lighter note, I was reminded of this sketch:

I will get to the colored/black thing as it is a big difference. The coloreds are a race on their own from mixed race marriages. They are not classified as either and are colored. They probably suffered the most as they didn't fit into any plan. I will get to this on how the government has set out an employment agenda where you have to give candidates with certain skin colors first. The list has 10 variations of what employees are meant to stick to. There was a case of discrimination against a black girl who applied to the government controlled national airline and failed. The reason was her skin was too light and she wasn't black enough.

You got a 7.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99