Writing Posts with a Great Desktop App

in #app7 years ago (edited)

Intro

For some time I was looking for a desktop/laptop app to write posts for Steemit. A month or so ago I tried a couple very quickly, but didn't get any of them to do what I wanted, ie make it super simple for me to write a post and post it on Steemit. Yesterday I stumbled upon SteemWrite. Only this morning I installed it, and immediately loved it! This post is written AND posted from SteemWrite.

 

Screenshot of SteemWrite Desktop App

Image: Editor Screen

 

SteemWrite

It has all the tools Steemit has, including the reward choose (no rewards, 50/50, 100% SP); Upvote, or not, your own post; Tags; Direct publishing to Steemit without copy/paste into another front-end (eg Steemit "Submit a Story") + the ability to keep drafts AND more formatting tools that I was missing in the standard Steemit post editor:

  • More Header font sizes: 6 in total
  • Alignment options: center and right side alignment
  • Horizontal line

And a really cool one:

  • Table support

And what about this one:

  • Scheduling for Publishing

 

User Friendliness

I have only very short experience using SteemWrite, but so far so good. Installation was super simple, just download the app, install it by clicking the downloaded file, open it and add your Steem account with Steem/Steemit username/password. Automatically all your historical posts are loaded into the app. For writing a post, navigate to the Editor tab, and start writing your post. All the setting for a post are presented in a menu on the right side of the window, with terminology as you know them from Steemit "Submit a Story" front-end. The picture below is a desktop screen image I took when finished writing this post.

In section summary I created a table. It is very easy to create the table, insert rows/columns and also remove them. There is a window to set table properties such as borders, line style, colours, however no pull down lists to actually make a selection. I guess this is not further developed yet.

I would say, with my current experience, this app deserves at least a 9 out of 10 on user friendliness.

 

Stability

For me, stability of an app is THE most critical element. When not stable, than I stop using an app, how cool or how simple such app is. So far so good, not any hickups, crashes, or waiting times when selecting something, or writing this post.

Therefore I can give this App a 9 out of 10 for stability.

I maybe should give a 10, but then there is no room for improvement anymore, and everything can always be improved + I do not have that much experience yet with the app to be able to determine if it really deserves a 10 for stability.

 

Platforms Supported

Versions for Mac and Windows are available; I'm using the Mac version. 9 out of 10 (Linux is not supported).

 

New Releases?

I don't know if this app is still maintained, or new versions will be created; I really hope the creator is still active.

This app was published about 4 months ago on Steemit by @steemwrite https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@steemwrite/introducing-steemwrite-post-drafts; no update posts since then though. @keverw could be the creator of the app, but also hardly any activity by that account in the last months.

 

Summary

User Friendliness         9/10     
Stability 9/10
Features 9/10
Platform Support 9/10
Overall 9/10

 

Questions to YOU

  • Are you using a desktop App to write your posts for Steemit?
  • Which desktop App are you using?
  • Did you know about SteemWrite?
  • What do you think of SteemWrite?

 

Looking forward to Your Feedback!

 

I never ask for ReSteem; but please ReSteem this post for visibility to as large group here in Steemit as possible. I really really like the app and really like to see further development on this. And once you tried the app yourself, I'm pretty sure you will like this app as well.

 

Preview Screen

Image: Preview Screen

 

Sort:  

Hello @edje,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank YOU! Appreciated your support really much! Keep on the good work!

Let me know if there is interest for this app. Will reach out to the developer and possibly help manage some sort of funds for further development as well. Will mention briefly on Beyond Bitcoin Hangout #200 tomorrow morning.

SUPER! Thanks for your support!

Just what i have been looking for. Thank you. Upvoted.

This App is not working anymore after a couple of HF upgrades. I was (indirectly) talking with the developer of this app last summer and it looks like this guy doesn't want to upgrade the App anymore. I used it with great pleasure as long as I could use it.

Awesome ! Resteemed !

Super! Thanks so much!

This post should be in the trending page !!!!

I don't mind where it is. I do like as much as possible feedback from he community to help revive this app, in order for the creator of the app to fix some minor bugs and finish some of the features that was pending a couple of months ago when this app was introduced. Thanks again for your support!

Just found out the alignment option "centre" does not work; I for sure like this to be fixed. I plan to ask the creator of the app to further develop this tool. Any feedback from you regarding the questions I ask at the end of the post/review, will support me and you. Looking forward to your responses!

I like it, I'll put it into practice. Good job!
Upvote and resteem.

Super! Thank You!

I'll try it soon.
Thanks.

You should indeed. It is super super simple to download/install it. A matter of less than a minute I think. Let us know what you think of the app when you tried it.

Done. It's nice. Next I'll try to schedule. Thanks

Schedule I didn't try myself yet as well, would be cool if it already works

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you so much for this incredible review @edje! I will try it soon!

Do indeed! Looking forward to your feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57