Playing around with the idea of taking artistic self portraits. 🌹 I’ve been obsessed ...

in #appics5 years ago (edited)

... with the work of Sorelle Amore lately (check out her instagram)where her self portraits are total works of art.

I don’t have any fancy camera equipment - but am thinking about upgrading for my vlogging content - which will hopefully allow me to take some cooler, more interesting photos as well.

Another self portrait idol is of course our very own @eveuncovered. Although my photos will probably never be as good as hers (or probably as, well...uncovered) I love the way she uses lighting and mood to create such gorgeous photos. I enjoy modeling and getting to collaborate with photographers, but I think there’s something really powerful about being able to take your own photos.

I’m not sure where this will go or how long I’ll play around with this idea, but if I do another shoot - I’ll be posting those pictures here on @appics!

Funny enough... I did an entire photo shoot and ended up liking the very first photo I took best.



ce6a8afeac9c9bb6e62eea70c62d1751

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

You don't need equipment! The best photographers of all time as we know them today used equipment far less technologically able and advanced than what we have now.

They were artisans, and masters of a medium. The core things of an image have little changed throughout history - composition, subject, colours, and visual storytelling.

Don't get trapped thinking you need better equipment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Shake it like a poloroid picture!

Oh, ohh! I almost missed this because I haven't been checking mentions. That is a really sweet self portrait, love the textures that you have going on in the picture.

Thank you for the praise too! I'm the total opposite to you when it comes to having my picture taken, I hate to collaborate 😅

Aww I’m so glad you saw it!! I think your self portraits are some of the best I’ve ever seen because they really tell a story.

This will be fun to play around with - even though I think my options will be pretty limited while I’m still shooting with a smart phone... but that’s okay. I’ll finally upgrade one of these days! 😊

Looks fabulous, great job @coruscate I really love the added Red Rose! 🌹

😍😍

When you try too many things you cannot become proficient in eveything.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is true... but I think there is also a TON of value in trying new things and stretching yourself creatively. You never know what might surprise you and be a new source of joy and inspiration.

I agree with you @coruscate! And they all come together in unexpected ways that no one else can imagine but you. I’ve built a career on it! Each time someone thinks “huh?” When I’m doing something that they perceive as “off course” I’ve had to learn to laugh and keep on going. Xox

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can do anything you set your mind to. If we don’t think of the world as a big sandbox, we start to hunch over, eat dinner with the blue hairs at 5:00, and stop looking to the horizon to see what interesting thing might be coming along.

I can attest to that! If it weren't for Steem, I'd mostly likely never have developed a photography bobby. The amazing thing is that it has generated me income from day #1.

Hello @coruscate!

You are multifaceted, with your content you learn many things.

Thanks for the information provided.

By the way, the two roses are beautiful.

Ah yes! I love Sorelle Amore! Been thinking of doing some self portraits as well but I'm still uncomfortable in front of a camera 😂 Maybe soon.. soon 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Great work 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

You're looking so cute like rise.@coruscate

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97