Love in the time of Capitalism - Give me back who i was before you. When we sit ...

in #appics6 years ago

... down, for one last time, to balance our sheets, and you open the ledger, and demand your heart back (which I believe I don't have), I want these things to be returned -

Give me back my July evenings of slow rain, and saturated conversations about everything that lies on either side of the skin.

Give me back my laughter, I need it now to fill silences.

Give me back the arch of my back, and the hitch in my moans. I did not make you the custodian of my pleasure.

Give me back the lessons we have learnt. Let me be petty, you can keep the mistakes.

Give me back this city, how is it that it now sounds, smells, looks, and tastes like you. I had lent it to you, it wasn't a gift.

Give me back the breathlessness of dancing too much after too many beers. The music doesn't sound the same without laughter in its empty spaces.

Give me back who I was before you. I am tired of keeping time by your clock.

I understand about loss as much as I understand about accounting - so very little. Had I known that one has to keep a list of transactions, I would have asked back for a lot more.

5031c93c6d870abe0da380e0f20b8222

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55