The Old Dog Decides To: Count My Blessings And Not My Problems Part Six! Yes I’m ...

in #appics4 years ago

... still at it! I’m still going outside to hike in the area around my house. I’m trying to be more observant and appreciative of the flowers and plants that I see out in nature.

Yesterday I took this shot of the lowly Dandelion. But…..is it really lowly? Here’s what I wrote about it in my Steem blog last year:
"The dandelion is one of the world’s most useful plants and can add much to your health and diet. It is rich in Vitamin A and potassium and is more nutritious than broccoli or spinach.

All parts of the dandelion are useful. The young leaves can be used as greens in salads or in just about any recipe calling for spinach. The dried, roasted roots can be used for a coffee like beverage; and the blossoms, for wine! Wow!

Throughout history the dandelion has been used as a liver tonic and cleanser, as a blood purifier and builder, and as a mild diuretic. It is also one of the top herbs in the Chinese medicine chest."

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)
Let’s Succeed Together!

378b1bd0688990f0cf9cc86802b6d988

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

I do like those dandelions, so sunny!

Coming from a man of such exquisite taste it must be good!

Hey @kus-knee, this post been upvoted with my voting power, individually calculated here for your account.

appreciated!

I'm just wanna say, its a beautiful flower.

Lovely flower!!

It is a beautiful flower. Which are full of vitamins.

Oh I love making things with the flowers and the leaves are 👍!

I've never tasted one before. I just thought they were weeds. Thanks for informative writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77