Sort:  

Sweeet!!!! Barlow lenses are pretty good when used in conjunction with the larger eye pieces if you're doing stuff like looking at the moon. For me, i use it with a 25mm eyepiece and it even helps a bit to reduce the glare with the moons brightness at its fuller phases. The two combined are a great combo.

Also i started following you cause you seem pretty cool.

I haven't used the Barlow lens yet but I aim to the next time I am outside with the telescope. Are they meant to help make it clearer, what you are looking at? I think the lady mentioned it when I was talking about the kit etc.
The moon filter helped to not be blinded haha!

Chucked you a follow too as that was a great astronomy post and I will get some read throughs to learn much more, as a newbie astronomer and I will use it to help guide me to finding more than just Neptune (I believe it was I found, blue planet with a ring around it?).

The barlow lense just magnifies the image. But the more you magnify something the dimmer it gets. So you need to play with it to get a good balance. If youre looking at craters on the moon or something through say a 25mm or 12mm eyepiece it will "blow up orvenlarge the crater" you wont get more detail though with the barlow. Just magnification. Think of it like when you use youre fingers to make an image larger on your phone. The pixelation remains the same but the picture gets bigger. Same concept but it also reduces brightness a little too.

Check out orions sword with your scope. You will see all sorts of cool stuff and you wont have to move the telescope much to go from one yo the other. Its all sorta in the same spot.

Also the darker place you use the telescope the better. You'll see the objects clearer and brighter the later into tye evening you view granted the object is not close to the horizon by the time you view it. The more straight up the object the better for viewing since it travels through less atmosphere which dims and distorts it. And make sure your eyes have enough time to adjust to the darkness. another reason why a darker location away from neighbors porch lights is better. Ruins your night vision. For looking at the moon its not an issue but if youre looking at nebulas even Orion the longer you look at it and your eyes adjust the better you'll be able to see the nebulas dust cloud and maybe a smidgen of colour.

Ah okay, at least I get extra magnifications based on the lens I used getting the double to it. Neptune seemed a little pixelated, might have been from other things though or from being a gas giant which I haven't seen through the telescope before and I still at least enjoyed looking at it.

Orion's is on the list of things to try find myself and view as are anything I can find haha.

It was decently dark due to the fence blocking the light from the neighbours back light. My backyard is near an alley, but the big tree blocks most of the light besides strands and that doesn't seem noticeable. I think I should be alright now I know adjusting the focus means it moves the objects closer or farther, which can help find something by having it look more like the naked eye star we see and then closing in, while adjusting.

Thanks for the help, will be looking again this week when I don't have a tension headache. :)

Pixelation like effect could be from time of night you were using it. If it was a little after sundown like 8:30 you might be seeing a wavy blur like effect from turbulent air due to the ground still cooling from the suns heat. There could have been turbulent air higher up in altitude that youre trying to see through.

You may not have truly been in focus and needed to tweak the focus a bit.

I believe you have a refractor telescope. A nice one at that. They're the kind where theres a lense on the front end, a long tube and an eye piece at the be back. As opposed to a reflector or newtonian telescope where the front is open and the eyepiece sicks out the side. Anyways with refractor telescopes theres a thing called chromatic aberration. The outline of the object youre looking st tends to be a little wonky. Fuzzy looking or changes colours a bit. Could be that too. Google refractors and chromatic aberration.

Could have been from it getting closer to the horizon, as I couldn't find it earlier when looking. But it's hard until I work out a nice place to go where it is also safe to be out at that time of night.

I believe it was in focus as I slightly kept adjusting both ways and it didn't get any better, would be the chromatic aberration more than likely and if I find it again, maybe it will be different when viewed.

This is a pretty good telescope, I checked prices and it was about $450 for it in AUD, decent anyway. One I want will be about $1000 someday.

Hi, @thegoliath!

You just got a 2.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This was my first post on Appics, so I didn't know the start of the description goes into the title, next time will modify it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67