Apple tree variety "Sheep nose"

in #apple6 years ago (edited)

Here I show you the young tree of a very delicious apple variety, called "Sheep nose". It's an old and originally variety, today quite unknown.
It's one of my favourite apple varieties because its taste is extraordinary and not similar to typical apple varieties!

I'm a fighter for keeping alive old apple varieties, if you get it, taste it you will surely be amazed!

Sort:  

That’s neat! It’s important to preserve these unique varieties. Good job!

Thank you so much! In our time of quantity, the quality and uniqueness of old fruit and vegetable varieties is increasingly lost. my life companion is a gardener with heart and soul and we strive for a rebirth of delicious old quality varieties. 🍎🍏🍐

We don’t have the best climate for apples, so we’re trying pears. Last year they were large but never got soft and sweet.

I understand! can you describe me the climate in Boston in a few words? maybe my friend the gardener has an idea...

I can do it in one word: Changeable! I think the biggest problem for apple trees is the cold winters. It gets to -10F in winter but up to 110F in summer. Most trees have to be grown on grafted stems because the roots of of most varieties don't do well. That means we can't use the seeds. Plus, the trees are prone to pests. Apples aren't worth the effort.

We are sorry, but my friend says, that it's quite a mission impossible for that climat growing apple and pear trees, like you already told me, so I will save the old varieties for keeping their existence and you maybe start a stylistic incongruity with a proud apple tree in your painting :D

Maybe I’ll do a plein air painting of the pear trees in bloom. Coming soon!

Sounds like a challenge! Thanks for checking!

1, 2, 3, GO...? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50