Adding a new species to my aquarium: Amano shrimp (Caridina multidentata)

in #aquariums5 years ago (edited)

It's been a few months since I picked up some cool fish at my local aquarium club's fish auction, and I have began to encounter some serious algae problems since then. I'm doing my best to limit the nutrients in my tank, but I still keep getting a lot of algae, and in order to combat this I decided to bring in some Amano shrimp (Caridina multidentata).

IMG_0671 – Kopi.JPG

The Amano shrimp are far from the most colorful or interesting shrimp species in the hobby, but they are the very best at grazing on algae and other organic compounds in the aquarium. They are known to graze on some algae that no other shrimp or catfish even touches, so these are the best creatures to get rid of all the pesky hair algae.

You can see the algae patches clearly on the photos above, both on the glass and on the decoration it is sitting on. Hopefully they live up to their reputation and clean these up in the coming weeks.

IMG_0666 – Kopi.JPG

Some of them are already working on the task.

Sort:  

Awesome! Congrats on your first crustacean addition to your little underwater world my friend :) Shrimps are fun and they are a good gateway to some larger crustaceans like crabs and crayfish :)

Thanks!

Hehe, maybe I will end up with some bigger ones eventually. The problem is that crayfish and crays don't go too nicely along with fish in the same tank :P

I think we have already talked a bit about this topic before. It can be difficult (especially if you have some aggressive crayfish species like Procambarus clarkii) but you can achieve some nice balance and peace in your tank if it is large enough and you create good living conditions for both your fish and crustaceans. I remember times when my giant 25-cm blue crayfish did not even touch any of my fish for long months. As a matter of fact, some bold neon tetras used to hide underneath his massive claws. I could not believe my eyes when I first saw this bizarre scene :D Anyway, I am looking forward to seeing how your shrimps are doing :)

Oh yeah, that's right. That scene with the neon tetras hiding beneath his claws sound amazing! That must have been quite a sight.

I was actually reading about orange dwarf crayfish (Cambarellus patzcuarensis) earlier today, and those definitly look like something that could be awesome to have in one of my tanks.

It was a very unique sight indeed :) Tiny fish hiding right beneath the predator´s deadly weapons. Very strange.

I have read a lot about the dwarf crayfish (never had them though) and I think you will love them! Excellent choice :) Let me know once you get them.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.212 which ranks you at #853 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01