Resident Evil and my little introduction to survival horror

Resident Evil is a saga that has had its ups and downs over the years, however it is a saga of which it can be catalogued as an indispensable title in the genre of terror and a game representative of the entire genre of survival horror.


My first contact with this game was not entirely good, because when I was a child this type of games were too scary for me, but very scary, games like Silent Hill or Dino Crisis for me, at that time were impossible for me to play, in fact, in my childhood I never played those games at night, I always played them by day and never played them when I was home alone, really, as a child I was very cowardly, therefore, this type of games I could not enjoy 100% for that reason.

images.jpg

With the passing of the years my tolerance to this type of games improved and I set out to play again games of the horror genre. I started to play Dino Crisis first, because of the three horror games I had in my collection at that time (Silent Hill, Dino Crisis and Resident Evil) I considered that Dino Crisis was the least likely to scare me and so it was, but of course, also in many moments when I was playing I was scared many times, but I was old enough to control my fears, so after finishing Dino Crisis I set out to play the first installment of the long-lasting saga of zombies.

71L77MrVuRL._SX342_.jpg

During the first hour while playing Resident Evil I was having a lot of fun and, at the same time, I was noticing how much I was missing by not having played this game before, although of course, I have a motto regarding good video games that says that: "It's never too late to play a classic video game" and clearly it was like that, even though at the time I hadn't been able to play Resident Evil due to my fear, after a few years and having played it once again, I could really enjoy this horror classic.



One of the most remembered and memorable scenes of the whole saga, as well as one of the scenes, that could be said, most representative of the survival horror genre, is the part when we make contact with the first zombie, that moment when the zombie was eating that poor man and then turns to see us, that empty look that this horrible creature throws at us is very impressive even today and in a certain way gives us to understand that from now on everything that we are going to see and all the moments that we are going to live during the time we are playing, are going to be like that, full of tension, fear and suspense.


After having completed the first game of Resident Evil I set out to play the second game of this saga and although the saying "the second parts are not good" is always present, with Resident Evil 2 was not so, in fact, this second installment of this saga of zombies, made me want to play other games of this genre, because Resident Evil 2 represented a fairly considerable improvement in many respects over its predecessor and then the third game in the series, for me, was the pinnacle of the entire Resident Evil series, which, as I said at the beginning, has had its ups and downs with some deliveries, but in general has managed to maintain much of its main and representative features.


In a way, I could say that although Dino Crisis was the first Survival Horror genre game I could complete, Resident Evil was the one that drove me to want to try other games of the genre and although I haven't played many of these titles, I have been able to play at least the most classic and beloved in the industry.


Sort:  

Maaaaaan, Resident Evil 1 takes me back! It was SO scary when I first played it, I would try and get through an hour in the darkness at night, and usually couldn't do it. The very first zombie you encounter is the part that really freaked me out as a kid; that freeze-frame image of it when it looks over its shoulder at you.

When you meet the first zombie, at that moment you know that everything is fucked up hahaha.

haha yep. that creepy bald, white face... haunts my nightmares.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks group!

Hi, @freddbrito!

You just got a 0.41% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @freddbrito! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95