(throwback) ok, so here's some memory of 90's games...

in #archdruid-contest5 years ago (edited)

(before we begin...):

Of course this is not tech, lol,

This doubles as experiment for posting non-tech and entering contest (which I would never win).

--------


(so what is this post about?):


For what this post is for and whatnot, I suggest you to go to this post for the contest...!

https://steemit.com/archdruid-contest/@archdruid/archdruid-gaming-contest-or-gaming-decades-the-90-s-total-prize-pool-30-steems


So basically anything about 90's game. alright, here's some throwback then....


-----

[Roller Coaster Tycoon]  (1999~2000)


Before Harry Potter video game... there was ... RCT!

I put this earlier than the latter one cause... it was the defining game of my earlier days and I would be still inclined to play this in the future....


Well, I was mostly into making roller coaster tracks after being tired of... clearing the missions? lol

But, not like also caring the scenery, rather I only focused on the tracks themselves.

Sometimes I would make highest top as possible then dip into the bottom level where it started... all the madness!


...now there's remake, which is Classic...

I bought PC version of it when it was on sale, and do want to get it on Android so I can play on tablet....

hmm....



------

[StarCraft]  (1998)


Oh, yes, another defining game on my earlier days....


I sucked so hard that I had to clear many campaigns with cheat codes... gosh

Since I never got to get my skills better that resulted in not doing ladder and stuff but use map settings maps....


But in the process, I found fun ones like cat & mice (still sucked, and some maps are balanced poorly which made them no fun)

and.. I can't even remember all those mission based ones, lol.


And OST... dang!

I at some time put it on my old music player (Samsung Yepp about... more than 10 years? wow...) and listened to it...

Ambient sound from Zerg and Protoss, and awesome rock(? sorry, I don't know the genre, frankly...) from Terran....

Music has been so great, and still appears on Remastered, only upscaled.


Hopefully sometime I will get Remastered......


Oh, and I still do remember watching so many Korean esports games... broadcasted....

Since I am not a fan of LoL, I miss good old days of those times...


----------

[Sonic the Hedgehog (series)]  (1991~)


Though I never had chance to play when those were out (though I vaguely remember seeing MD/Genesis Sonic in a mall...)

I did have chance to get to it later on...


aaand.... they're damn freaking too hard!  😂😂😂

I can't get past 2nd stage(not act) usually...


But again, soundtracks are great.

including that iconic Green Hill Zone music... there are a lot of tracks with high value of listening again, I could say, haha.


It's good to see it remixed in games like Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed...

(I really appreciate having so many Sega game audio tracks remixed in there...)


-----

[Neo Bomberman] (as part of Bomberman series)  (1997)


Anyone remember arcade days?

I was lucky that one of the machines had this game...


I really digged into this game... lost some coins cause I sucked so hard... lol (story mode)

I did try battle mode but probably only few times back then.


After several years... I somehow remembered this game (lol!) and played again in battle mode.

and I figured out how to win the mode easily... lol!

'Rubber' all the way, just become floating jelly then sneak into enemy's space then make some confusion and trap them... easy win! lol

(ofc except for open space one -- 2nd stage)

At least it made some confidence and some practices....


-----

[ Ninja Baseball Bat Man] (1993):


Can't go wrong with this one, if you are into beat-em-ups or baseball(?!)....

So lucky to have this one too in nearby arcade back in the days and this was time killer... lol


just mash the button, in baseball theme! lol.

So fun...

I even played with relatives back then....


BTW, any of the arcade emulators for Android (at least 2 years ago) cannot properly emulate sound and also might lag... which is shame......

fixed in later version of MAME but nobody ported that version...

Now, is there one currently, that plays this game absolutely fine..?!


p.s.

Did you know AVGN selected this game as one of most underrated/unknown games (especially for the folks in US)?

If you didn't... you gotta try....



-----

[Romance of the Three Kingdoms series (especially in 90s)]:


What a strategy game series we had back in the days...

If you ever had been interested in Asian history and also strategy games, this game could be for you!


Actually the series spanned even from 80s... but if I'd pick the ones I should mention...those would be from 90s....


The one that got me into this series was the 3rd one released in 1993. Actually it was merely a random funny abridged gameplay video which set the names in...an interesting way... lol


4th one in the series was released in 1994, and 5th 1996. Since 4th, Koei decided to also release Power-Up Kit... it's like expansion. Of course I took those expansions for granted... lol.


4th one added even more characteristics like skills that would be one of the defining characteristics of the series.

5th one basically seemed like 'back to the 3rd one in the series' and also introduced 'formation' which affects the characteristic of the troop.

And... many people knowing the series picked the soundtrack from this RTK5(yeah, it's usual abbreviation for the series, BTW) to be the best...

I honestly don't know which soundtrack from the whole series is best, but anyhow!


Well, if you want to hear for yourself, I'll drop a link to the playlist!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVE__oPh3KAZoH_P_EhNwCEs3LuvEusC5



-----

(more mentions):


Crazy Taxi... oh yes, the soundtracks. Those including The Offspring's....

just exciting metal and stuff.... catchy soundtrack for sure.


Burning Rangers (1998)... main theme, which name is the same as the game...

it's enjoyable rap(yeah, I.. even hate (cause sick and tired of listening too much of it... and also not my taste) trap based raps... but it's different in this case...) having such vibes and rhythms....

Thanks SSART for awesome remix and chance to find the game for reference (even if it was just for reference, lol!)


-----

[outro]:


can't even remember if I had more...

(I might add more later if I do)


But that's it!

Thanks for reading this random shit(?)post... lol


Hopefully I can be back with some tech next time

(ah, yes, I will talk about recent update for LG V50 soon, if I can....)


Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72