The Dream Game!

in #archdruid6 years ago (edited)



Source


This is a relatively short write up I'm making for a contest about your dream game for the Archdruid Community! Hopefully you enjoy it a bit and if you want to participate you can find it here!

I love fantasy games especially the medieval fantasy genre but lately a weird quirk has been invading all the fantasy games/RPG games these past few years, there's nothing that I love more than a rags to riches story where you get to be the underdog and overcome difficult challenges, but lately most games are skipping most of the process entirely, games these days have you start like an average guy and suddenly a few hours into the game you end up being some sort of unbeatable god...

Not all hope is lost thought, earlier this year Kingdom Come Deliverance was released and what a fun time I had playing that game, this game is easily the best single player experience I've had in the past few years, it had an amazing gameplay, amazing story and the combat system was amazing but over all these things, it exemplifies what I truly want in a game, starting as a nobody and staying as a nobody for a good while at least.

Another example of making characters over powered is World of Warcraft, this game has a really especial place in my heart and I've been playing it on and off (more on than off lol) for over 10 years by now, the narrative was simple, you are a small timer looking to go into an adventure and you end up facing difficult enemies and harsh bosses in dungeons and raids and for some you even had to bring 40 people, which makes sense since the enemies are strong and you can't possibly handle them alone, but how do you go from fighting dragons in a relatively old fashion fantasy way to fighting basically gods on a platform in space? You start as a weak adventurer on a horse and you end up traveling on a space ship to fight a god in space, where did the relatively grounded fantasy go? well enough rambling, this is supposed to be about my dream game not what makes existing games not live up to that standard!

The main issue I believe implementing my dream game would have is how the gaming landscape has changed over the years... with the advent of mobile gaming and more and more games becoming round based, get in, play for 20 minutes and get out it becomes harder and harder for developers to require time investment in games, most people these days are seeking instant gratification rather than a realistic, long build up adventure, this is why over the years fast travel has become more and more prevalent in gaming, people don't even want to have to walk in a game anymore, they want no downtime, they want to go from action packed moment to action packed moment and get out ASAP, there's no room anymore for those amazing long mount runs you had to do with your friends in early World of Warcraft history, where you had to travel for over 30 to 40 minutes to a dungeon or a quest zone, for some it was tedious but for some of us that was part of the adventure... Its like gamers these days are running on borrowed time, they don't want to do the journey, they want the destination and they want it now, no time for build up or anything else...



Source


The Game

With everything I've mentioned above, I believe I've painted already painted some sort of picture in your mind of what my ideal game would be, It would be an MMORPG, with medieval fantasy, with highly specialized characters that take a long time to build up, thats also a common pit most games have fallen these days regarding character uniqueness, everything has to be streamlined or similar and you have games like Final Fantasy XIV where your characters can do all the professions and all the classes, no specialization at all, your characters is just a copy/paste of everyone else that decides to do everything.

My Dream game would change this, it would have super specialized character professions that take time and resources to advance with huge pay offs at the end, with super rare recipes that would make other players require your services because you are one of the 3 players that have managed to get the recipe drop in the whole server for example and you have taken the time to max your profession and your services would be required by players that have gathered the materials for your craft. A limit here would be 1 gathering profession and 1 material processing profession, like for example mining and blacksmith or herbalism and alchemy, with each profession having super rare and difficult to get recipes that would make you instantly required by people that have not been as lucky as you or worked as hard as you in your profession.

No fast travel at all, the only fast travel you will get is when you die and you get send to the graveyard. If you want to travel long distances you would either have to walk there, use your mount or if you are lazy, pay an NPC to take you there and endure the whole trip, this is basically to not only reward the skill and luck of the players but also the time investment they put into the game, maybe you are traveling to a far edge of the map that takes almost 1 hour to get to and there you can find super rare and expensive materials but since its so far away most people don't go there out of laziness and instead spend their currency buying it from you on the market.

This is more of a economics thing but wouldn't it be awesome if you could use your game currency in real life like they do in the movie Ready Player One? I believe a similar system would be amazing and would put real value behind the time you put into your games and would give your digital items value, I believe this is totally doable thanks to crypto currencies!

Maybe the mining of the crypto currency happens when a player kills a monster you get your money out of a rewards pool similar to how Steem works and you get a certain amount depending on the level of the mob and difficulty of the zone, then the currency can be traded in game for items and things from other players or with NPCs, trading with NPCs would probably be some sort of burn mechanism to maintain supply under control, the math for that is hard but I believe someone out there is capable of doing it!

I would love the story and game world to be as grounded as possible, mainly to prevent players turning into god-killers after leveling up a bit, this would also apply to the game play, even if you out level a creature or player, one shooting is pretty boring but a lot of games lately have manage to create level scaling system to allow players to play with lower level friends at the same speed and not leave them behind, this could be tweaked to apply it to the whole game world, of course as you level up and you get equipment certain foes become easier to defeat but the never to the point where you can one shot them and insta kill a whole area with 1 spell...

I would probably not want factions in my game, I don't want to divide the player base like that, I would prefer some sort of dynamic clan system, where you join some sort of guild i.e an assassins guild or a knights guild and you get access to exclusive things that allow you to specialize your characters even further but at the same time making you enemy of another guild/clan to have some sort of PvP cohesiveness and not just mindless death matches.

If we are on a medieval world, of course we would need some sort of reputation/karma system and depending on your actions against other players and NPCs you are categorized as good or bad and eventually if someone is bad enough players can start putting bounties on them or maybe you where gathering herbs peacefully and someone came and killed you from behind but he's stronger than you and you decide to put a bounty on them just for the pleasure of watching them die... but to have this death be meaningful, the death penalties should be high losing XP is boring but maybe losing gold or having the chance to drop items from your bag when you die would do the trick.

After reviewing this seems like the game would be pretty hardcore and hard to get into, but its supposed to be my dream game lol and thats what i miss from old games, the rewards and good feeling you get after putting hours upon hours of effort into getting things done and thats why these days I gravitate more towards grand strategy games because it takes a while to build up and then you execute your strategy instead of the get in - get out - instant gratification of most games these days... A little bit too much into the hardcore scale but that how i would envision a perfect game and if i didn't mention something, i would probably also lean to the hardcore choice on any other issue, too much quality of life things these days in games!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress :The Frog Nation


Sort:  

Medieval use to be one of my favorite genres but it seems, for the most part, to be taking a back seat. Kingdom Come Deliverance is one of those games I keep hoping to get around to getting but just can’t make it through my backlog of game and things to do. I’ve heard quite a number of great things about it. I was really hoping Mount And Blade Bannerlord would be coming out this year. I really just want siege the daylights out of a bunch of castles and go on an epic conquest to claim an entire map.

Single player expertise games have been dwelling as well as everyone wants to cash in on extra online sales. I was going try out ESO during their free weekend but never got around to it. That one to me was a bit of a backstab as I think Elders Scrolls should always have a great single player game.

I’ll be trying to get into WoW again as its almost time again for the next expansion pack. I’m also just wondering how much longer that game can really go on. It’s starting to really age.

I can agree with most games these days seem to be in a hurry to take a player from A to B and then it’s the end of the game. Sadly that is just how the market has turned into as well. Most these days have busied themselves to the point they really don’t have time for anything any longer. I can think back to my Everquest days and there no way I could swing a game like that with just how time-consuming it really was. Sometimes it was the journey just trying to get to a camp to farm out. You could even arrive somewhere hard to get to and all of a sudden the tank or a dps had to log off as that was all the time they had.

As a mega crating in most games I’ve played. I’ve never been a huge fan of having 1 or 2 profession limits per character. That just forces me to have a bunch of alts. Instead, I would rather see crafting system as a whole be more in-depth and have to do more than just press buttons 1-5 and out comes a complete item. I like having some item consumerization, having to use multiple stations and parts to craft up to that final piece. Needing a few professions even to get all the parts.

A game like Eve Online’s economy where it’s almost is or maybe now 100% player controlled and crafted. I’ve found it always a bit lacking when you have to go buy materials off a vendor. You would think if you where some kind of master of crafting or a jack of trades you would just be making it all yourself from raw ingredients you farmed or purchased from other players.

You should really try and find sometime to play around Kingdom Come Deliverance, its pretty good!

I agree with you on ESO, It was kind of a disappointment since Elder Scrolls play so much better in a single player campaign... Hopefully they learned their lessons and its not going to be like that with Fallout 76? hopefully...

I've never played a Mount & Blades games but I've seen some videos and it looked interesting, any recommended entry way into the franchise or should I just wait for the new one to be released? Are they standalone sequels?

I would just wait for the next one. Mount & Blade: Warband is starting to really show its age. I don't' really feel its a 19.99 game anymore either. It's great if its on a 75% sale otherwise it's had its time.

I even picked up one of it better expansions a while back Viking Conquest but never got around to playing it. Which is suppose to be more challenging.

I for one, get attracted more and more to "fast travel." And find traveling a long distance tedious from the second time on!

But when I play games like older Final Fantasies, I don't feel alienated with the distance traveled...

where you had to travel for over 30 to 40 minutes to a dungeon or a quest zone, for some it was tedious but for some of us that was part of the adventure.

That's how I feel with older Final Fantasy games, I don't know why...

But I kind of feel that modern games are made with bare-bone content that you'll feel tempted to press the "instant travel" button!! There's not much to search for.

I remember playing Dino Crisis, a survivor shooter... I was checking every corner in the game, because you never know which tree or metal box will have info/lore for the game. They are interesting but not necessary to complete the game (actually some of them are but you know what I mean.) Games don't do this anymore...


I think games that are too slow paced will never sell to multi-million audience these days.

So if they're made with appropriate budget, people like us who love these games, would become loyal fans for the company that does it.

Interesting concept. I think this is something we haven't seen yet in video game. Or at least not entirely. I always use fast travel myself, but if I'm to choose which one feels more fun, it'd be long distance-traveling of course. Getting lost on your way, get distracted by something, taking a detour because you're running another quest, is part of the journey, part of your story.

And! If I may add...

if you are lazy, pay an NPC to take you there and endure the whole trip
Maybe you'll encounter something exciting on your way like for example bandit ambush, then you'll need to defend the NPC and the cart or something like that.
Your design choices are bold turn from the streamlined aspects we've seen a lot nowadays. Awesome!

I like this, of course there could be events that could pop up when traveling... There are games that do something similar but it could be expanded, maybe players of a thieving guild are able to intercept other players traveling to try and steal their stuff, The world should be as dangerous as possible!

Hi lunaticpandora,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I think I am interested in the same type of MMO's and RPG's that you are. Immersion!

Its all about immersion into the world! The most important character should be the world! It has to live and breathe and not be an empty box full of pretty things!

Lately I've been reading many posts about what the dream game looks like and I'm really into them. I like the idea of trying to write down the idea of how you imagine your dream game.

Playing MMORPG games was my first love (I remember playing Metin2, Lineage 2, Rohab Blood Feud - oh, memories!)

I like the idea that you are against fast teleport as I think exactly the same - what's the point in using fast teleport if you actually enjoy that game? It's supposed to dedicate yourself when you like something and chosing the easy ways it's a no-no for me. I also like that you want to prevent players turning into god-killers after reaching a bigger level as this problem is almost in every MMORPG where this is allowed. When people get a big level they suddenly feel more powerful than others and that they could actually have some fun while killing them, lol.

I really hope your dream game will become reality one day as I would more than happy try it out..and oh! I would gladly go into the Assassin's Guild, haha.

Reading others dream games gets you really hyped up! Out of the games you mentioned, I've only played Lineage 2 and i've played more than a dozen MMOs but never heard about a few of those in your list lol.

It would be amazing if the game became real but being realistic, it probably wouldn't reach a big audience because it would be too hardcore but i'm pretty sure the right people would love it! Maybe i'm wrong hopefully and one day in the future people start dropping their instant gratification games and developers again start creating huge, immersive and difficult adventures.

Congratulations @lunaticpandora! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

So I read the rest of your post now, good game idea, it's really hardcore but it's your dream game and I know many people dream of it too.

The ideas of guild system, the grounded leveling system & death penality are all really good, of course! depending on the world & how they interact with other systems.

As for reputation/karma... I'll make it as subjective as possible if it were me. You're not judged by how good/evil you are, but by how you affect the world around you... Something like "a town's greatest hero, is another town's dreaded villain."


like Final Fantasy XIV where your characters can do all the professions and all the classes, no specialization at all, your characters is just a copy/paste of everyone else that decides to do everything.

I'm sad that FF increasingly took this approach since FF7. I think I'll touch up on that in my upcoming FFVIII review (that characters no longer matter from gameplay perspective.)

I like your suggestion for the karma system, actually kingdom come has a similar system but it was pretty bare bones.

My username comes from FFVIII :-D I'll look forward to your review.

Haha, just noticed that!!

@lunaticpandora
My username comes from FFVIII :-D I'll look forward to your review.

The area is my next destination in the game now (I play slowly and exploringly, so it might take few days for that.) Hopefully I remember to mention you when I write it!

I love the world and characters in that game so much, I replay at least once every 2 years!

Hello that is an intersting dream game! I really like wow and i started to play a few years ago and to be honest it was my first game i ever played and i struggled so hard!But it is my favorite game ever:)
I hated to walk on the map hahaha i will definitly pay in your dream game to get from a point to an other one to avoid 1h travel but i understand what you mean my brother is a huge fan of wow and is like you he doesnt like that the good player that spend a lot of time playing gets as much as the noob like me:)so a reward like in your dream game could be interesting same with the profession it also kind of involves more interaction between players to help each other with their specialty.

I see you too never like things of rush.
No one can start today and be a city tycoon in the afternoon. It takes time.

So those rush games really miss the point.

We people who play them are not interested in seeing ourselves so strong and unbeatable in a blink.

Anyway when I get kingdom come I hope to enjoy the fuscinating beat of it.
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87