You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Game of My Dreams: How about a City Building Sim [Gaming]

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago

Hey, I've seen something like this before... it's called minecraft!!! But yeah, to be honest it sounds good, except it would be a pain to develop, lol... the government system sound pretty bad too, why constrain players? let them make their own governments any way they want to do it...

You also focused a lot about the internal city simulation stuff, so why even bother to make beasts or monsters?, something as complicated as this would play out the best with only humans... humans vs humans, wars, betrayals, crime, this is the feel I get from reading, not beast, monsters and loot to be honest.

Sort:  

Just readed my own comment and it came out a bit dickish, it's not my intention, lol, I really like the idea and you put out quite a bit of effort, I tend to focus on the points that could be improved instead of congratulating the things that were done correctly, so sorry about that.

That's okay, no offense taken when criticism is made. A good critique has nothing to do with the person's character you are speaking with, and invites communication back. Thank you for that.

Why do you think monster encounters would be pointless? I was thinking of something similar to Asheron's Call, which had PK servers and safe servers. Players on the PK servers had random trolls, but players also organically made their own guilds to protect each other, like gangs. That way they could go into dungeons together, to find the best loot and get the best experience. Sometimes fighting monsters with simple AI was more fun than running around chasing annoying players to earn experience.

This is just a silly dream idea for a game, so I am not very serious about game balance mechanics. This game is more like a buffet, with more features than it really needs, to allow more players to enjoy the experience in the way that they prefer to play (city building, merchant millionaire, rise to power, world conquering, dungeon grind, or creative art showcase). There are some games that focus on a few of these, that probably do it better. Advanced city building at the core of the game is what I would like to see in more MMO's right now.

Sorry for the late reply, believe it or not it was internet issues, still having them actually.
I like RPG monsters and fighting monsters, the thing I saw odd was the fact you mentioned it at the top of the post and then forgot about it while describing all other options; nothing else. I really like Co Op games like Borderlands, and something like that but with everything you're adding would be just awesome.
The only advanced city building I've seen is on simulator games like Dwarf Fortress or Minecraft, and even then it's very bland. Players really need a little more independence to affect the world and the NPCs around them. I think Black Desert had a novel idea on that ground but it became a pay to win MMO and quickly lost support.

Yes, you are right. I guess I did only mention the combat briefly, mainly because I didn't have any thing new I wanted to add that is already good in many other games, but to instead further explain how to expand world building as a player-made feature. Sounds like you understood what I meant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99