Archdruid contest, Villains

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

Chercheeze small.jpg

So the title of this contest is villains I'd like to kill again.

Honestly, I don't like having to kill anyone, even in a game. Wait, that sounds like I kill people outside games too. I must enthusiastically emphasize that is not the case.

I was trying to think, then, of other spins I could take with this. I considered favorite boss to spare, but that leaves me with a very small pool of options (basically Undertale). In most games not killing bosses is not only frowned upon, it's impossible.

The very concept of a boss, in fact, is intimately tied up in the idea that you must defeat them to advance. There are some bosses that you do not need to kill to keep going, but tellingly these are typically referred to as optional bosses. Even in one of my favorite games of all time, Fallout, you have to "defeat" an end boss to complete the game, and though you can actually talk to him, a victory by diplomatic means still means their death. The rare times you get through a boss fight and the boss survives it's usually just so they can threaten you again down the line. It's also typically not your choice to spare them.

So, I thought...if I COULD spare any boss, which would it be?

 

So here are my top five game bosses I'd spare if the game didn't make you be a murder hobo.

5: The Colossuses - Shadow of the Colossus.

 
A pretty obvious choice here. Even before you know the game's TERRIBLE SECRET you feel bad for fighting the big, stupid things.

4: Kreia - Knights of the Old Republic 2

 
I have a lot of sympathy for anyone who thinks the whole Jedi/Sith dynamic (at least as it was once elaborated on by the prequels and expanded universe stuff) is ridiculous nonsense.

Besides, I already went through everything I could do to try and save her in my playthrough so she's gotta make the list.

3: Jon Irenicus - Baldur's Gate 2

 
Ok, so I know this guy was a total butt and I have zero reason to think he deserves redemption.

On the other hand, it's kinda like the mummy thing. Fictional peoples gotta stop cursing their implacable enemies with superpowers.

Plus elves are generally pretty lame.

2: Ravel - Planescape Torment

 
One of only two named people you have to defeat in the game, Ravel is the least deserving of the two to die, and yet is the only one of the two (the other is a rogue angel ala Neverwhere) that you can't spare.

Sure the entire plot is kicked off by what she does to the main character, but I can't help feeling a bit sympatico with an ugly person that falls in love, no matter how psychotic.

Yet again, I feel it necessary to mention that I do not kill people.

1: King K. Rool - Donkey Kong 64

 
Ok, first off, why would a gorilla have a stash of bananas? DK would never encounter bananas in his natural habitat. Sure zoo gorillas like bananas, bananas are tasty, I get it. But in the wild? We've never seen any sign of actual humans in DK's world (Mario does NOT count, have you seen that dude? He can jump five times his height. That is not a human person). Certainly not in the Country series. It's clear that beyond his tie, DK is a "wild" specimen.

Moreover, a banana horde is just stupid. A banana will last maybe a week outside of a fridge. A male gorilla can eat about 280 pounds of food in that time. THat's about 840 bananas if he ate nothing else. Let's round that up to a generous 1000. Just going by the number you are required to collect, there are at least 1680 in the game. That's far more than a single gorilla could eat before they went bad, and even attempting to get close would likely give him potassium poisoning.

I know what you're saying, "K. Rool is a Crocodile! He doesn't even eat bananas!" But actually, no! Crocodiles actually do eat bananas and other fruit. All he wants is to stop DK's obsessive greed and wastefulness.

So that's it! That's my spin on villains I'd like to kill again!

Thanks for stopping by! What would be your top five villains you wish you could have spared/would kill again? Check out the contest here: https://steemit.com/archdruidcontest/@enjar/38-steem-in-prizes-contest-game-villains-no-resteem-no-follow-no-upvote-required

Oh, and remember, I am not a murderer. Seriously. Stop looking at me like that. STOP LOOKING AT ME


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

WOW! What a twist... Villains for redemption! You've got some serious old school selections there! I'm surprised that you can remember the names!

Yeah, I am a nerd, heh.

Even when I entered the contest with my entry, I didn't think of "Villains that I want to kill again." (like you, I try to be pacifist.) I choose few of my favorite villains for the contest.

Not necessarily mean I want to defeat or kill them again.

By the way, I think this post of yours could use some formatting (it'll read better with headers.)

Yeah i don't do that but I'm down to learn. You mean for the ranks?

I meant somehting like this:


This is a headline

This is normal text

 ### This is a headline
 This is normal text

Having some headlines in your article makes it easier to read, and makes those who (want to) skim through it without reading everything, get more useful info from the post than when it doesn't have headlines.

cool, I'll give a shot!

Ok @ahmadmanga there we go. Improvement?

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 72 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks! My first ever!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Quite an interesting contest)) But I would not be able to choose 5 civilians, I myself as a civilian))))))))

Heh, I think I catch your meaning.

(basically Undertale)

well at least we got my clever and insightful possibility for a comment out of the way early.

Was Kreia the old lady with no eyeballs? I did try and buddy up to her too!

'Twas. Broke my heart that she dies no matter what.

I loved how the other villains part in your post were like one paragraph long, but when you started talking about K Rool. You started with "Ok first off. GORILLAS DON'T EAT BANANAS." Loved it, lol

This guy gets it, heh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61593.58
ETH 2950.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49