You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My dream game Inner Struggle is grounded in reality – with a twist

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

I didn't get a clear idea of the game until you mentioned Chronicle. I think I can imagine well (not as clearly as you, of course) how the game would play, and how interesting of a story to follow it would be.

I like the player's ability to decide to choose to be good or evil, like the bank robbery scenario you explained. But usually I'd love to go with the "good action followed by an evil deed". Like, appearing in the bank robbery scene, help them steal the money, escape together, then betray them and keep the money for myself. I don't know why I have strange fixation for betrayal lol.

And having other people that the MC deeply care for--the wife and kid--really makes the player more involved with the game. Because most of the time the consequences of a player's action are applied to, well, the MC himself, and I don't think it feels as much emotionally punishing as having your wife and kid at risk because of your doing.

The thought of losing your wife and kid which will affect the main character's life because of your decision, I think it'll lift the "Your choices matter"-meter higher. Well, that's what I thought of this interesting concept of yours.

Sort:  

Your opinion just illustrated how deep the game would be, despite its obvious Telltale/Dontnod roots: choices that would take you down different roads, with a HUGE emotional impact. You're absolutely right when you said that the consequences to the main character aren't that emotional, so having someone to think of at every move (wife and kid, brother, parents...) would definitely shake your moral compass.

No bland "good/evil", but a game where you were at a crossroad every step of the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82