Return to Archery Park.

in #archery6 years ago

Welcome to my second blog on archery. Once again it has been a month since i last got the bow out. We got to archery park around 11am and hit the range. Starting off at 30m to check everything was ok.

DSC04119.JPG

Wow, i am rusty, thats quite a spread! i'm shooting low and left slightly. Not to worry, i will warm up quickly. i move back to 50m so that my inaccuracy is magnified and i can make adjustments if required.

DSC04122.JPG

That target now looks pretty small from this distance. i shoot several arrows to see how i'm grouping.

DSC04121.JPG

So i'm definitely shooting low and left; i had the same problem last month. i check that my sight is ok and all seems fine so i need to adjust the sight down and left to move my grouping up and to the right; lets see how that goes.

DSC04126.JPG

Great! That's moved my grouping up and back to the right. i'm happy with that and my mates aren't doing too bad either.

DSC04117.JPG

That's pretty good shooting for a 68 year old.

DSC04115.JPG

My mate's change from his 50lb re-curve to a hunting compound bow is taking some getting used to.

Off to one of the ranges to have some competitive fun. Today we are shooting on Valley Field. There are 20 targets and most are not marked for distance, so the best guess of how far away the target is will determine how well we shoot.

DSC04131.JPG

Here's target number one; can you make it out in the trees? Probably not. How far away is it?

DSC04132.JPG

i choose to shoot at 35m to hedge my bets.

DSC04136.JPG

That's 3 in the black for me, looks like my guess was pretty close; a good start.

Target number 3 even has a shooting platform.

DSC04145.JPG

My mate makes some quick cam adjustment to get his bow right.

DSC04147.JPG

The close up Turkey at target 4, is an easy one, as there is very little drop off in the arrows trajectory when shooting up to 20m or so.

DSC04153.JPG

Target 5 & 6 are a double shoot.

DSC04156.JPG

Great. No issues so far, i'm hitting the black.

DSC04157.JPG

Target 13, and we are all getting tired now...

DSC04185.JPG

...but still on target.

The pathways and each target are clearly signed to help with navigating the course.

DSC04189.JPG

Target 15 - the wolf.

DSC04190.JPG

Guess the range at 40m, but it is down hill so this negates the drop off in the arrow trajectory, i shoot on the 30m pin.

DSC04192.JPG

I guessed correctly, 3 on the dot.

Target 16, the ram.

DSC04195.JPG

i know this one will be a 40m straight shot so this one should be straight forward.

DSC04197.JPG

A great shot by my mate, sneaking an arrow in between my two..lucky so and so...

And target 17.

DSC04200.JPG

The pig.

DSC04202.JPG

Still got some good shots left despite the fatigue.

And target 20, a crocodile and the final target for the course.

DSC04211.JPG

DSC04214.JPG

The final 3 arrows find their target.

Yes...finally the course exit, i'm exhausted, time for a trip to the pub for a drink and a bite to eat.

DSC04216.JPG

Thank you for joining me on my second archery blog, i hope you enjoyed the journey :)

Sort:  

Nice shootin'! Makin me want to go out and shoot my Pearson traditional bows.... got me itchin'. I love the targets. Great way to make some great targets without breaking the bank. Nice!

Thank you - Go for it, break out that bow and have a shoot. i'm sure it will put a smile on your face :)

Looks like a Mathews bow. Pretty good shooting for 50m! I have a Parker Hunter. A little old but works well for me. 70lb draw. Pretty strong pull but seems to be good. Still kickin up the dust at 67 yrs old!

i shoot a Martin Alien Rytera, my mate shoots a Martin Thrasher and the father in law shoots an Elite GT500. We all had great fun on the day - need to shoot more to "keep my eye in".

Nice shots (specially the pig), i got myself a bow that I intend to try this summer. I'm wondering how I'll do

Cool- What kind of bow and make did you get?

Hey, I've shot a lot of targets, but I never took a shot at a crocodile though. Yikes!

I would like to take a minute to introduce you to @myhuntingfishing blog and #myhuntingfishing Community. I am sure that the tag would be appropriate for you in some cases.

You can see more at https://steemit.com/myhuntingfishing/@myhuntingfishing/attention-hunters-fishers-firearms-enthusiasts-oudoor-lovers-communities-are-already-here-steem-giveaways

"I just love to watch the arrows fly"

Got a fishing blog ready to write up - will use the tag - Thanks :)

I am looking forward to it - and welcome!

Very cool. One of my uncles used to bow hunt deer. It's not something I see often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69