Traces of History in Daewung-jeon Hall of Gaesim-sa Temple

in #archisteem5 years ago

As soon as passing through the pavilion for the bell, there was a gate of Haetal-mun, the last gate to Daewung-jeon. Suddenly a monk appeared and beaten a wood block. I didn’t notice the meaning of beating the wood block. Some one explained that the sound meant it’s the time for lunch.

P9010375.JPG

In this small temple, you can take a lunch at the temple, when you arrive in time.

Gaesim-sa was relatively small size of the temple. But it have preserved its building until now without any destruction. The first building I saw as Daewung-jeon serving for Shakamuni Buddha.

P9010398.JPG

P9010399.JPG

The pagoda in front of Daewung-jeon seems to be made in Goryeo dynasty. It shows typical style of Goryeo kingdom.

I was walking around Daewung-jeon. Its corner stone and the foundation informed me this hall could be built earlier than I read in the board.

P9010442.JPG

The foundation looked to be influenced from earlier style of construction. The foundation of Daewung-jeon was similar to that of Shilla dynasty. What could explain this gap of 500 years ?

P9010403.JPG

Actually this temple was built in the era of the last king of Baekae dynasty. Though the history, it had been repaired several time up until now. But there is a strong possibility that the stone parts seemed to be used in repairing the temple. If so, the architectural style of Baekjae looked as same as that of Shilla dynasty.

I took the pics of this hall, and the pattern of the window was so excellent.

P9010435.JPG

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
One thing I also noticed while reading about Gaesim Sa Temple! Unlike most of other temples you have shown before, this temple buildings are more colorful and attractive. I don't know it meaning something or not! But I could notice that thing while watching the photography of the temple! Nice photography and information! I wish one day STEEM will let me a chance to visit this temple! Thank you!

Cheers~

Striking colors that show well in your photography, @slowwalker.

It seems with temples that we are forever repairing the foundations. We are playthings of time and entropy.

I also loved the lattice pattern of the window - as Keats wrote, a thing of beauty is a joy forever...

Perhaps that's how we defeat time and mortality.

@slowwalker, We can get some meanings from Daewung-jeon Hall of Gaesim-sa Temple. I never seen or heard before beating the wood block. Yep it's small temple than previous. Seemed Gaesim-sa Temple tourist attractive location. Pagoda style same condition in Korea. Also window and roof patterns so impressive to me. Absolutely mind relaxation photo clicks you found in Gaesim-sa Temple. Thank you for explained.

The places where you visit are very beautiful and ancient....Your choice is really good... My dear lovely friend @slowwalker 💞💞💞

Dear @slowwalker,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

It common way for telling the people for food or something else....
And the temple is very beautiful

This temple is so colourful and different. Usually, you present more tranquil and plain structures.
But I like all of them.
Great work.

Very nice captures. Sharing a meal with the monks would be an interesting experience, and something I would likely seek out, if I were there. I wonder if they allow photography at mealtime?

Thanks again for sharing some great photos.

Shared on twitter promoting good quality content on #Steemit and the #Steem Blockchain.

Stephen

#Promo-Steem #steemtalent #JoinSteemit #Steemit

https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/1057396667236995072

20181030_222301.jpg

Just a great post one I appreciate your post my dear friend so I am proud you cause your every content just good and helpful for us ..so carry on your activities..so this your contribution just marvelous I think that your post very informative and helpful for us..
Keep it up..

I will wait for next post and go ahead..
Best of luck

@resteemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97