The Tradition of Pasalubong

in #archisteem6 years ago


Every time we travel to different places we often want to bring something home. The souvenirs that we take home varies from food, mementos, shirts from tourist spots and sometimes we even want to take home just too much. Here in our country we have that habit of wanting to always bring home something for our friends and loved ones. We call it pasalubong and the most popular to take home is food. Join me today as I take you to popular spot in Laguna, Philippines where you could buy a lot of local delicacies.


 

The Tradition of Pasalubong



Our travel has been very enjoyable for us and seeing different places locally is a great experience. As we know coconut is very plentiful in our country. One of the most popular delicacy in Laguna is the buko pie which is a pie made from coconut.


A lot claims the title of the original recipe for the pie. Different establishments compete for the title of the original. The name of the place that we visited speaks for itself "The Original Buko Pie". They have been around for a very long time now and I recall going here when I was very young. I remember my grandma keeps saying every time we go to Laguna, "the original only, buy pie from the original." At a very young age didn't care about the place all I wanted was to just get a piece of that pie.


At this time, there was no long lines yet and lucky for us they just opened. It is known that this establishment causes traffic in the area due to the long line of customers.


The pie is not the only reason that people comes here for. There are a lot of goodies to choose from. If you have a sweet tooth you would definitely love to get in line.


One of the other popular delicacies is the buko tart. Packed in a nice red box it is perfect pasalubong for your loved ones.


Just minutes while we were buying, the customers were starting to come in.


The line was getting longer and vehicles were pulling over and starting to build traffic along the main road.


This is the garlic buttered sticks. Crunchy delicious and a good snack with coffee or hot coco. You could easily make by just using old bread. Smear it with butter, sprinkle some sugar and add crushed garlic. After that just stick it in the oven until crunchy, but keep an eye on to it as it might get burnt.


The Broas biscuit which is also known as ladyfingers in other countries. Once you put it in your mouth it easily falls apart.


Next is the Philippine peanut brittle which is made from caramelized sugar mixed with tons of peanuts. A local favorite and there is also a variant with cashew nuts. Satisfy your sweet tooth and have a taste of this amazing treat.


There are so many products here and I could not present them all to you. Each has it's own history and most of them I have not even tasted yet.


I noticed the bottled food that was on sale. I figured it was sardines or shrimp paste, but as I looked closer it was something else.


It was surprising that it was actually our local spicy vegetable dishes. Bottled and ready to eat, I had to check the varieties.


A dish called Sinantol which is made from a local fruit called Santol or cotton fruit. I normally just eat the seeds from this fruit as the seed is covered with a sweet juicy tissue. Once the sweetness is gone just spit out the seeds. The flesh of the fruit is very sour and you would need to pair it with a little bit of salt or shrimp paste. The dish is made from the minced flesh of the fruit, mixed with coconut milk and can be mixed with pork or seafood. Of course it is not complete without the local bird's eye chili.


Another one is the Bicol Express which is made from pork, coconut milk, chili and sometimes mixed with vegetables like string beans.


Now my favorite local vegetable dish called Laing. My wife prepares the best Laing ever that she learned from her mom. Dried taro leaves are used, cooked in coconut milk and mixed with pork or small fishes called dilis.

Well what can I say we love chili and coconut milk on our vegetable dishes. Coconut milk simply turns dishes into something very tasty and healthy.


The pie that you are all been waiting for, "The Buko Pie". Fresh hot from the oven, made from young coconut it is a heavenly treat. We got two boxes one for us and one to take home to my aunt. I'm sure it will bring back memories from the good old days when my grandma was still with us. I can say that this is our version of the popular apple pie. Something that we are proud of and if ever you visit our country don't forget to take a bite of this delectable treat. Just watch out though as it is extremely hot, as they always serve it straight from the oven.


Time to pay the bill and and enjoy all the food that we bought here.



Just look at the line that keeps longer and longer every minute.


Time to go, but before that just on the next stall. They sold fresh milk and a perfect way to wash down the pie.


They also had chocolate flavor and my son loves chocolate drinks. I on the other hand prefer just the regular fresh milk.


Here we are with my bottle of milk. Maybe I should have bought a bigger bottle.


I guess that wraps it up as we got everything that we needed to take back home to our loved ones. A part of our beautiful tradition we always remember those who are unable to join our travel. Even in our own small little way we always want them to experience a part of our journey.

I hope you enjoyed this little tour and I encourage you to have a taste of our delicacies if given the chance. Until then feel free to visit my old post from this amazing province.

 

In Search of Fried Duck

A Thousand Steps to "Tatlong Krus"

"Tatlong Krus" at the Summit of Mt. Humarap

Paete Church

A Resting Place at the Foot of a Mountain

Chisels from the Town Near the Bay

Meeting Extraordinary People

Pakil Church

Mucho's Hauz

The Descent from Mt. Humarap

A Quiet Place at the Side of a Mountain


Unofficial Page

The Original Buko Pie

 



Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness


Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness

To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm kit lens









Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.vornix.blog/2018/10/25/the-tradition-of-pasalubong/

Sort:  

Dear @watersnake101,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #353.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank you very much for featuring my post. Very much appreciated.

They all look so yummy. It's such a pity that I never got to try any of it during my previous trip to Manila.
Hopefully, I can plan for one soon and try all these goodies.
I'm no sweet tooth but I do like savouries.

Oh you should try it soon. From Manila go to Tagaytay and see the volcano. there are also a lot of stores like this and also they have freshly baked buko pie. Not the original though lol but some are really good.

What a mouth watering post. It all looks so yummy. We did a similar post about souveniers from our countries as well, including Philippines ^_^

That is interesting and I will have a look. Thanks.

nice post @watersnake101, your post always inspires me @emmanuelmitti to do more when sharing my blogs. keep it up and the sky will be a stepping stone....

I am delighted that you liked it. Keep on Steemin!

I would love to try the Philippine peanut brittle! Looks yummy! You seemed to have a big shopping day! :)

The peanut brittle here is ok but if you really want the best peanut brittle. I made a post about it months ago on our visit up in the mountains of Baguio. I tell you their peanut brittle is so addictive!

I will remember it in case I would go there :)

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Much love to the family. Thank you sooo much for the heart warming support.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=watersnake101
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thetraditionofpasalubong-80gj3ks71f


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Sugar and garlic? I have never heard of such a thing. With coffee even! I will have to check this out. I wonder if i can find it in one of the etnic shops around town. Then there is that coconut pie! Oh, you make me hungry.
Ren

Garlic, butter and sugar combination on toasted bread is a must try. You could easily make it at home best to shred the garlic but don't use to much.

Oh, for sure! Garlic is a time bomb if you arwnt careful! Haha

Great post! I love that there is a special word for bringing souvenirs to family and friends. pasalubong. I must try to remember that! I hope everyone is well. Give them all a hug and tell them it is from me.

Hey @melinda010100 how are you my friend! Everyone is doing good and it's their semester break. As for me we bought an old van which is driving me crazy due to the tons of repairs. I'll give everyone a hug from you. Take care.

You bought a van! That is exciting. Keeping a vehicle running can get expensive, can't it? We do need the price of Steem to go up! I can just imagine all the plans you are making for places you can go! I'm so excited for you. Lots of adventures ahead!
I nominated your post for C-squared. Glad to see that they stopped by!

Lol it's an old van I bought from my cousin and the repairs are driving me crazy. He said no one used it for more than 4 years when I complained about the repairs lol. Thank you very much melinda. Much love from all of us here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83