Underground Art • Architectural Photography

Underground Art • Architectural Photography

subway_eye.jpg

I photographed this eye mosaic at a subway station yesterday. The station is scattered with hundreds of eye mosaics all the same size (2 by 3 tiles) but the catch is that every one of them is unique!

Does anyone know why these watchful eyes are scattered about the walls of this subterranean structure?

Can you identify the station?

I shot the mosaic with my iPhone 6S Plus.

Thank you @juliank for creating @photocontests!


U5dssCqyQ8N9j5ewV5rAaNKA8Pqykev_1680x8400.png

Thanks for the art @overkillcoin... minnows, dolphins, whales... I’m down with squid!

Sort:  

Are they human eyes? That looks very nicely done.

Yes they are human eyes... the mosaic looks like Roman art.

Great subway art happening in NYC! It's been years since I was there. Great photo!

Thanks... they have added a lot of new art.

Wonderful photo and art. Subway stations are amazing places!

THIS GREAT IS THIS MOSAIC ... A WORK OF ART.

Wow ... a very unique art. It must be someone who does it very thoroughly. I do not know why art is made like that at the station. There must be some meaning. Maybe if we were at the station and noticed the eyes, it would look scary, like someone was watching. That's my opinion ... thanks @otage

Wow Natural art this eye Thanks for the art just amazing image

Wow !!! Brilliant artwork....!!!
Perfect sketching....@otage

This is not a sketch its a photograph of a public artwork made with mosaic tiles.

I'm not sure...but it reminds me a lot of the pavements on the beauty city of Lisbon :)

What a beautiful architectural photography!! I appreciate your great creativity.

Amazing eye capture. I don't know that why these watchful eyes are so scattered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63