Stenbock-Fermor House

IMGP5417.jpg

There is almost nothing to say about this house. Built in 1900 by architect V. Zeidler. But the site on which it is built is very interesting. The whole quarter between Sredny Prospekt, Makarov Embankment and Volkhovsky Lane was occupied by the Siberian (Birzhevoy) Yard, founded by a large merchant and industrialist Savva Yakovlevich Yakovlev. Here were located office space, shops, and warehouses. One of the warehouses was located exactly at the place where the house of A. A. Stenbock-Fermor now stands. And the pink building on the left side of the frame is the Yakovlevs' house, built in 1760–1770. At the time of Savva Yakovlevich, he served as a clerical office, but his grandson, Aleksey Ivanovich, turned this building into a city manor. In 1818-1821 he undertook a major alteration, it was then that the corner balcony on wooden Doric columns was completed. Under the balcony was a garden.

IMGP5422.jpg

IMGP5423.jpg

IMGP5428.jpg

**
CameraPentax K-r
LensZenitar-K MC 16mm f/2.8 Fish-Eye
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia
Sort:  

rusteemteam!

Hey there! Great post. I really enjoyed the architectural pictures as well as your write-up about it.
I have chosen to include you in my entry to the Pay it Forward Curation Contest for this week! As such, I have followed you, resteemed and upvoted this post. Keep up the great work! Please consider joining this contest with your own entry.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

That wood columns are huge @tatdt 😱 remind me to many old buildings in my country too.. nice shors anyway, thanks for sharing. Found your post through @viking-ventures entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. Keep steeming 😉

I like old buildings:) Thank you!

I like old building too... it has history and special design, not common and unique views

Totally agree!

Nice post, @tatdt!

I've found you because @viking-ventures has featured you in her Entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you!

I'm not an expert on architecture, but this building is beautiful. I love the fact you took the time to write a description about it instead of just posting the pictures, great post @tatdt! :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tatdt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Built in 1900? More than century old building? Wow! It must have been maintained properly that it still stands. The wood columns on the last photo look scary. I hope they won't give up soon. I suppose those were changed over time? Or are they part of the construction from 1900?

As you know, @viking-ventures featured your article on her post as an entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. The contest is open to everyone so you are welcome to join.

Yes, the building underwent a major overhaul. Сorner balcony on wooden columns was built in 1818-1821. I cannot say for sure whether the old columns survived or were replaced, but the building was restored.

Wonderful contest, thanks!

I see, the building was restored. That explains why it is still there still with magnificence. 😊

Adding a background story make this post more valuable than just posting a photo. I like your work. You post has been chosen from @viking-ventures for pifc contest. You may or may not know about this contest but he mention about this contest in his comment. Good luck and steem on.

This is a great contest, thank you!

I absolutely love old buildings. You got some fantastic pics. I really like the closeup of the column bases.
I came over because your post was featured in the @pifc curation contest for this week, by @viking-ventures

I love old buildings too. Thank you!

Very nice post. Short and sweet. The architecture is nice, I can see why you took shots of it.

As you may know @viking-ventures featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. We are always interested in new people to join in with what we do. Help promote others like yourself to keep the community growing.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

You're very welcome. One thing you find out is the friends you make here have similar interests LOL. I have a wide variety of things that intrigue and fascinate me, architecture is on of them. The older the better usually, but I have seen some modern buildings that are amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10