Architectural Drawings - Hostel Concept & Grateful Bread Sandwich Shop

Welcome Hotel Magnolia, my dream concept of a multi-purpose commercial building in Costa Rica. After many trips backpacking around the county, I really enjoyed the hostel culture and the way it treated me. The eco tourism, mixed with surf and organic lifstyles created such a wonderful environment for me.I stayed in many hostels and hotels taking notes of what I did and did not like.

EPSON04.JPG

When I returned from my last vacation in I decided I was going to design my ultimate dream. I wanted to design something that was small and I could build relatively easy. A building that was functional as a hotel, hostel and restaurant/shop. I needed to create something where I could live in and manage the building after construction for a long time comfortably. The need for retail/restaurant/shop was not only for another revenue source, it is for me to have a project and something to become passionate about while living in a small beach town in central america. I noticed that alot of the expats who live full time in Costa Rica need a business or a serious hobby.

EPSON005.JPG

I plan to open a sandwich shop in the retail space called 'Grateful Bread' and manage the hotel/hostel from the adjacent office. I will be living upstairs and renting the remaining units as hotel rooms nightly. The hostel will be located downstairs in a dorm setting next to the recreation areas. Full time security will be located on the first floor in the hallway and have a designated office nook. Free breakfast sandwiches will be given to hostel guests and free sandwich passes will be given to hotel guests.

EPSON001.JPG

Entertainment will be booked weekly to perform on the stage next to the pool. Local bars will sponsor the drinks and the sandwich shop will sponsor the food. Local artists will showcase their work for a monthly gallery staging inside and outside. There will be private reservations for rooftop events such as local chefs and artists releases and press events. Surfboard rentals and bikes will also be available for the guests at the front office. The goal in this concept is to create a self sustainable building that takes very little management because of its size. The building needs to produce many streams of revenue for the many different tourist seasons (low/mid/high/holiday)

EPSON002.JPG

The large front patio is for the sandwich shop seating and possible hostel lounge. I am trying to create a commercial space with a modern touch, something that could fit in downtown Tamarindo on main street. This project is designed for a small 1/4 acre lot in a densely populated beach town. Point loads and structurals should be pretty standard as I tried to create something I could build myself. Walls are cinder block concrete and stucco, I am going for a simple clean look. No crazy weird architectural features that cant be built. I want it sleek and sexy, modern and cool, a place where people will enjoy staying for a budget price.

EPSON003.JPG

I do not mind if people build this project before me, just to have my building built would be worth it all. I may not be able to build it and for it to exist only on paper and in my head would be a shame. I hope you all enjoy the concept and maybe I will see you there one day! Live Learn Love Life!
-Davis Design, Grateful-Charts

Sort:  

Excellent design, gosh, you have your hands and mind into all kinds of wondrous things and do them well.
Cheers
L

Thanks Lynn, I have a few passions I really enjoy. Architecture & design was my first love before growing cannabis. I recently about a year ago went all in on my trading and have been so focused on that. I need to get back into arch/design, its so much fun. My perfect world would be a little of everything but investing needs all my attention until I can sit back and have a little more extra time. I am glad you liked the design, its my true dream

Congratulations @grateful-charts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool Thanks, badges and awards are always nice. much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73