Basilica of Tariba - Tachira/Venezuela [Be a traveler]

in #architecture6 years ago

The city where I live is something small, but its surroundings will always call my attention. This time I travel to show and tell this beautiful church, in the city of Tariba, well known as a Catholic pilgrimage center in Venezuela for housing the Basilica, Museum and Boulevard of the Virgin of the Tariba Consolation.

IMG_5333.JPG

Built between 1904 and 1911 by Mons. Miguel Ignacio Briceño Picon, in the same place where the Church was built by Father Martinez de Espinoza around 1690, which in turn was built on the site where the miraculous renovation of the image of Our Lady of Consolation around 1600. Source

BasílicaI.jpg

They will realize at a glance what the attractiveness of this peculiar church is and why I love it. In addition to its colorful lights that can be seen from other neighboring cities, the history of this church is very significant for each Tachirense and Venezuelan.

That's how it looks at night in the distance, no doubt draws the attention of anyone thanks to those striking colors, which change as Christmas lights every 5 seconds, in the photographs you will notice that some of them come out of one color and others of another color.

Take from the periphery of my city San Cristobal (At night)

IMG_5269.JPG

During the day it will also call your attention, one of the most outstanding characteristics of this city is the inclination of its streets and houses that in some cases can reach up to 20 ° of slope. The Basilica is an important tourist attraction that attracts thousands of visitors every year. I will tell you later why.

Take from the periphery of my city San Cristobal (By day)

IMG_5379.JPG

View from Plaza Bolivar

dia noche.jpg

Every year, on August 15, the pilgrimage of the Virgin of Consolation takes place where hundreds of people from all corners of Táchira walk in procession to the church. This procession marks the beginning of the traditional Fair of La Consolación (or Tariba fair), and it is so multitudinous that it paralyzes the city and its adjacent ones completely. It should be noted that my family and I are one of the many devotees who come every year to this great event dedicated to the Virgin of Consolation, patron of Tachira.

Internal view of the Basilica

IMG_5475.JPG

Observe and delight the internal details of this church, inside there are a dozen stained glass windows where you can see the different scenes of the origin of the cult to the Virgin. You can imagine how many people visit this beautiful church every year.

IMG_5458.JPG

I recommend reading about the history of the wooden tablet that rests on the altar. Interesting, mysterious and miraculous. Here you can find out And I also leave a curious fact: In the table of the Virgin you can see the four grooves that seem to prove the intent of young people who wanted to turn it into a racket for their game.

In the vicinity of the church, next to the Plaza Bolivar, is the famous boulevard, where you can find from typical sweets to souvenirs, stamps of the Virgin, scapulars and other objects. To be out walking in the city, to go around the square or just after leaving the church, you must go there, the people are helpful, friendly and always have a smile when attending you.

IMG_5536.JPG

I confess that I love to explore and I have something to tell:

Be a traveler.

Meet, explore, travel. If you do not want to do it in your city, go further, there are always new places to know, full of a lot of history, cultures, architecture. Inspire to see the world. I do it and I love to share it with you.

I support the cause of publishing more photographs of us after cameras, we are human behind a social network and it is great to see how everything is from another point of view, after photographs, from that point I could capture the images from the periphery of my city. I will always be happy with what I do because I love it.

WBJS0031.JPEG

Like all drugs, traveling requires a constant increase in doses. —John Dos Passos

Health and happiness for everyone!

I hope you enjoyed the post, thanks in advance.

Each photograph is my own, taken with a Canon Eos Rebel T3 camera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55